86 vfr 500 - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Introductions New here? Introduce yourself!

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 Old 03-27-2010, 2:35 AM Thread Starter
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
86 vfr 500

hello to all. im new at this computer thing and im still learning as i go so please excuse me if i stutter. i just bought this bike the other day. when i test drove the bike it ran fine. when i picked the bike up couple days later i imediately noticed two things: one,the seller had touched up the paint on the tank. and two, the bike was now idling at 4000 rpm.i also noticed a fuel smell when i shut the bike down. when i tried to remove the fuel line i got face full of gas! i dont know much but i do know that a petcock shouldnt flow without vacuum. so i took it apart and found that the valve has two diaphrams and no spring. the (on) line to open the valve is present. allowing fuel to flow freely at all times. im guessing when he took the tank off to re- paint it he didnt re-attach the (off) vacuum line. so is there a second vacuum line that shuts off the fuel or is it missing its spring? my manual says nothing helpful. i have never seen a fuel valve that relies on vacuum to stay closed when not running. this seems unnecessarily dangerous. but there is no spring to close the valve and there is a spot on the valve for a second vacuum line. applying vacuum at this port sucks the diaphragm the other direction shutting off the flow off gas. so i guess my actual question is: how do i stop fuel from gushing out of the perfectly fine fuel valve? if it does use two vacuum lines where does the engine side attach? should i retrofit a spring for safety? any advice or personal experiences are appreciated.
Sponsored Links

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Site Related > Introductions

Quick Reply

Register Now