good ol' standard shift vs gp shift?? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
General Discussion General Motorcycle Discussion. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, and doesn't fit into a more specific forum, it goes here.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-17-2006, 12:13 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

good ol' standard shift vs gp shift??

Well not really versus. If I by a used racebike with GP shift, does the swap back to standard shift usually require parts? Kind of vague question I know but I have never done the swap before and want to know if I will need to spend more money to switch it back to standard. I think this particular bike has Pro-Tek rearsets.And than this bike has a carb instead of Fuel injected. But that is another story and preference all together. Oh my. So many choices.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 08-17-2006, 12:19 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

Re: good ol' standard shift vs gp shift??

Depends on the bike and the rearsets.
post #3 of 11 Old 08-17-2006, 12:19 PM

Yes, you'll spend money. How much depends on the bike.

Or you could just swap with someone who wants Pro-Tek rearsets.

edit: Jinx. You owe me a coke, BDA.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 08-17-2006, 12:22 PM

Depends on the bike, but on most with aftermarket rearsets, they're designed to work with both GP and Regular shift by simple changes, and no extra parts needed.

Dunno anything about your specific case...

post #5 of 11 Old 08-17-2006, 12:57 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvtolean View Post
Depends on the bike, but on most with aftermarket rearsets, they're designed to work with both GP and Regular shift by simple changes, and no extra parts needed.

Dunno anything about your specific case...