1999 CBR 600 F4 Doesn't want to go into neutral anymore - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda CBR 600 Discussion of the Honda CBR 600F1, Honda CBR 600F2, Honda CBR 600F3, Honda CBR 600F4, Honda CBR 600F4i, and Honda CBR 600RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-08-2008, 11:36 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

1999 CBR 600 F4 Doesn't want to go into neutral anymore

Hey guys, I'm a little new to the maintaining my bike game, I'm worried that my transmission is going, since I got my bike about a year or two ago, these things have been happening:
  • every now and then bike get's stuck in neutral from 1st (shift up hard, but doesn't make it to 2nd gear, a second shift up is required)
  • sometimes the bike gets stuck between gears (shifting from 6-5 for example, the bike sometimes finds a neutral position between gears until I depress the clutch and try and shift again)
  • occasionally shifting from neutral into first while going roughly 5-15mph is really loud and forceful to the bike.
Recently however (past week or so) I've been having this problem:
  • It doesn't want to go into neutral at all. If i'm stopped in 1st or second, It's near impossible to get it into neutral. I have to get it rolling a bit to put it in neutral. Even then, it doesn't feel like it wants to go into neutral as easy as it did previously.
Does anyone know what the problem might specifically be? Does it sound like my transmission is really going, or could it be something easier (cheaper)?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-08-2008, 2:30 PM

Re: 1999 CBR 600 F4 Doesn't want to go into neutral anymore

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmatt33 View Post
Hey guys, I'm a little new to the maintaining my bike game, I'm worried that my transmission is going, since I got my bike about a year or two ago, these things have been happening: