F3 has trouble starting and issues w/ choke... - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda CBR 600 Discussion of the Honda CBR 600F1, Honda CBR 600F2, Honda CBR 600F3, Honda CBR 600F4, Honda CBR 600F4i, and Honda CBR 600RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-30-2008, 8:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

F3 has trouble starting and issues w/ choke...

Howdy, yes I'm a noob anyway, bought a 98 F3 last week, runs great...once I get it running. It won't start if it's under about 55 degrees without the assistance of jumper cables or such, as it runs the battery down cranking. Once I do finally get it started, it runs fine unless I turn the choke all the way off. Once I do, it idles @ 5000 rpms, even when I put it in gear. Does it need the AFM adjusted? If so, how do you do that on these bikes? I've worked on cars, but never bikes. Thanx!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-01-2008, 2:31 PM

Reputation Power: 29

Re: F3 has trouble starting and issues w/ choke...

Hi, it could be one of many things but start at the battery and rectifier / regulator leads- the cold kills an old battery, could be time for a new one but remove the pos & neg leads and give them a good clean up and nip em back up. Back from that it could be the rectifier/regulator earth lead so first check the earth lead by removing the screw holding the little lead on to the mounting plate and give it all good clean up (you need to remove the R/H rear side panel, its below the pillion seat area. Rec/regs are a common failure point so you may want to try a second hand one. Alternators can also start to fail giving poor output for charging but this is usually on very high mileage bikes. Also the starter bushes may be worn.