Ticking noise under load again. - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 07-07-2013, 2:46 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Ticking noise under load again.

Hi, newbie here and having an annoying problem.
I've seen lots of posts about different noise problems. I have the following problem with my 1999 cbr900rrx
It has 18k miles.
Engine is quiet and smooth in idle and in gear on the paddock stand through the rev range. No noises apart from slight noisy clutch basket when you release the clutch.
Under load when you get to just below 3k revs there is a loud ticking noise from the front of the engine on acceleration. This is only under load and disappears at about 5k revs unless you throttle back slightly and have constant revs. If you accelerate hard the noise is apparent straight away below 3k revs.
Downhill isn't as loud as the engine isn't under as much load.
I have had a full service, chain & sprockets, valves checked and just replaced manifold header gaskets. Noise is still there. I was wondering about CCT but its only under load and between 3-5 k revs.
It's very annoying but not getting worse as I've just done 800 mile trip round Belgium. It does not affect the performance and It's been dynojetted apparently when I bought it.
Can anyone assist with advice?
Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 07-07-2013, 3:05 PM

Re: Ticking noise under load again.

Ticking noise under load again? I take it that you carried out a repair and it didnt work?

Is the noise there while the bike is cold or when its hot? or all the time?

What did you carry out on your previous repair?
post #3 of 21 Old 07-07-2013, 3:36 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 13