Contemplating investing in my first Blade - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-21-2014, 12:16 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Contemplating investing in my first Blade

I've been riding for a little over 2 years now and gone through a reasonable progression (Honda CBF 125, Kawasaki GPZ 500S, Suzuki SV650S) and now I'm looking to upgrade to something a little more powerful and a little more sporty for this summer track season. I'm stuck between a Honda Fireblade 900RR (1997 model is the one I'm mostly looking at), a Kawasaki ZX6R J1 (2001) and a Honda Fireblade 929 (2001) price wise I've only got around £1700 to spend so can't splash out on the latest and greatest. I'm 6'2" and around 85kg so just want something that is big comfy and I can throw around to my hearts content. I do a lot of miles (around 12k a year) spring to autumn in all conditions except snow and ice. I love the styling of the 929 and that its the most modern Fuel Injected bike of the bunch but have heard mixed reports about reliability, I like the ZX6R as I've got a few friends with ones and they are sound quality bikes on track but cost quite similar to the 929 and I like the old 900RR blades size and styling but of course they are the oldest bike of the lot and while I can fetch a reasonable one quite cheaply it is a slightly dated design and I'm not sure how it will be on track riding with more modern machines (mostly early 2000 models)

Any and all advice would be fantastic

Thanks
Harry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-21-2014, 1:37 PM

Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 10

Re: Contemplating investing in my first Blade