hey all, newbie here. - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-31-2014, 4:59 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

hey all, newbie here.

hey people, got another bike she is arriving wednesday. This time its a track 2001 929 for me on a daytime mot so we can ride here in the uk during daylight hours!-)

little bit about my biking, im 31 soon, passed my test in 2009. first bike was an nc30 vfr400, then in 8 months i bought a blue 2001 r1 (6 months later crashed on a bend at the redline in 2nd gear with 5 cars on the outside of me! eek), then a 1992 steel frame cbr600 trackbike which i only used on the road an found asmatic and heavy after the r1... soon i had a red 2001 r1 which was never as quick as my first one (at least it felt that way)... last bike was a 2008 mk2 superduke, loved it but had no top end and was alot of money to leave sitting in the garage for 4 months of bad uk weather.(i am a fair weather pleasure rider only)... done 1 trackday 2 weeks after crashing on the patched up blue r1, needless to say i was very slow!-)

this brings me to now, i rode a friends 929 back when i had my vfr and loved it so thought i would give it a go. new bike has mx bars ontop so should feel superdukish? just loved the look of this one! im toying with idea of going full streetfighter.

i know only an idiot would call one slow but are they that much slower than an r1 from the same year, they both had factory quoted 150bhp at the crank right? the main reason i went blade this time is what all the reviews back then seemed to miss in my opinion, the blade is the most forgiving and easy to ride fast... the r1's are easy to kill yourself on nearly in my opinion!-)