HELP! High mileage 954-looking to possibly purchase/ rebuild - *NOOB*! - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-16-2014, 3:47 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

HELP! High mileage 954-looking to possibly purchase/ rebuild - *NOOB*!

Hey everyone, let me start by saying I am new to the bike scene and this is my first post. I am looking to possibly buy a 2002 954RR. It wont be my starter bike so dont worry, it would be more of a project. I have been wanting to rebuild an engine for some time now for fun and learning experience, I am a mechanical engineering student, and love everything with motors and wheels.

So my friends dad has a 2002 cbr 954RR and it has been through a lot! About 4 years ago was the last time I saw it and it had 80,000 miles on it and he was trying to sell it for $1,000! SINCE then he gave it to his co-worker/friend to use since he got an '09 1000rr and that guy used it to commute as well. Then THAT guy gave it to HIS friend to use and commute on and that guy (third "owner") dropped the bike. Im estimating the bike has at least 100,000 miles on it by now, and im pretty sure it still runs.

The bike is now back at the original owners house (my friends dad) just sitting in the garage. His dad is about to get a BMW s1000RR. so this 954 is far in the past to to him.

Im wondering:

A) what is this thing worth?
B) How much would a full rebuild of the engine cost? im assuming it would need just about everything with all its been through.
C) would there be any other ESSENTIAL items to replace besides motor internals? IE. tranny stuff, clutch stuff, shocks, fork?

Thanks in advance everybody!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-16-2014, 4:13 PM