Stupidity costs money - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 12-21-2014, 1:14 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Stupidity costs money

Last month I went and got a 02' 954 as my first bike. Well needless to say I managed to blow the engine from hard riding, will admit Im a novice rider, and now I was given 3 options from my mechanic.

1. Rebuild the motor, top to bottom.

2. Buy a whole new/used motor.

3. Swap in a 1000. I dont know which years will mate in just fine so some info will be awesome on that.

I'm trying to figure out which option will be least expensive of them all.

Sincerely,
The noob

P.S. Im ready for the constructive criticism......its needed
Attached Thumbnails
FB_IMG_1415558843825.jpg‎  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 Old 12-21-2014, 1:43 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 27

Re: Stupidity costs money

First off, Welcome!

second, your cheapest way out is buying a used motor, BUT, it can also be the most expensive. You might find a motor that is in great condition that has been properly maintained. I personally would rebuild, and not take chances, and that is because I have complete faith in my motor builder.

Lastly, there is no 1000cc motor that will be a straight swap, it would take manufacturing of brackets, wiring harness, airbox, possibly fuel pump, and the list goes on.

Good luck on whichever way you decide to go.
post #3 of 35 Old 12-21-2014, 1:59 AM Thread Starter

Cross out option 3 then lol

Last edited by macca9540; 01-23-2015 at 4:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 35 Old 12-21-2014, 5:25 AM
President: Team Full Chat

Mentioned: 70 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quoted: 734 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 102

Garage