Valve clearance & chain tensioner?? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-15-2015, 5:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 7

Valve clearance & chain tensioner??

It's about time to get ready for the riding season.
My buddy who was an yamaha technician went for a ride at the end of last year and said that he thinks my valve clearances are out.

Since I bought it used and it's now at 50000km, I figure I should definitely open her up to see what it needs.

I'm a car mechanic btw.

I also hear that the cam chain tensioners like to fail on these bikes..... I have definitely felt more vibration and noise over the past year and a half I've owned it.

First, How do I check the condition of my tensioner.
Second, if I decide to replace it, should I go with another Honda tensioner or a manual one? Pros/cons?
Third, if I have to replace the valve shims, I'd have to remove the cams.... So do I just time the engine, remove the tensioner, loosen the cams, replace shims as nessisary, torque up the cams, and reinstall tensioner?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 01-15-2015, 11:20 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47

Re: Valve clearance & chain tensioner??

download a copy of the service manual. its got detailed info on checking and doing your valve clearances.

the advantages of the manual cct is it can be adjusted to keep it in the sweet spot. the automatic oem is spring loaded and just gets loose after a while n the chains whipping action causes it to spring back more where a manual cct is locked in keeping the tension more even.

"love is the feeling you get when you like something as much as your motorcycle."-Hunter S. Thompson
post #3 of 3 Old 04-18-2015, 9:30 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)