Steering Damper Need Help!! Advice!! - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-30-2016, 8:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Steering Damper Need Help!! Advice!!

Guys, I'm new to riding these bikes, I ride everyday rain or shine on my BMW and sorry but I love the thing. When I get on the blade the front end seems to go where ever it wants on me. I need help choosing a steering damper of some kind I guess. At low speed the Beemer is so nice and goes straight no hands if need be, you don't turn the steering at all and I mean at all! I get on the blade and low speed I have to turn it, I'm afraid of getting tank slap. Any suggestions here?? I guess its just a big big geometry change for me. I mean I commute everyday on the BMW, take it shopping, ride in the rain, all the time. I get on the blade and it takes so long to get used to it then I'm on the way home!!!. For me its like going from a semi to a VW. There are so many dampers out there and no, I dont want to drop 500 on an Ohlins. I don't race or anything just go out with either the 94 or 95 once in a while, although the 95 is torn down right now. And yes, I just started on a sport bike this year when I picked these 2 up. Maybe its just me?

Thanks
Paul
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-31-2016, 2:55 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 8

Re: Steering Damper Need Help!! Advice!!

Take it you've already checked the obvious items first; such as front tire air pressure (tread OK as well?), loose steering head bearings (stem nut too), etc ?