Engine swapped. Wiring help. - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-14-2016, 7:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 4

Engine swapped. Wiring help.

Hey guys and gals. I just acquired a 1996 Fireblade with a '98 motor in it. You're probably thinking "Oh boy I bet stuff doesn't work!" LOL.You're right. I know more or less what I need but seeing as I am new to Honda's I just wanted to double check with y'all. What I know I need to sort the issues I have is a wiring harness and a cluster from a '98. Looking at the wiring diagrams it appears the cdi wiring changed so I will need that as well. What about the fan wiring harness? Anything else I am missing? I assume (I know where that gets me) the controls will be okay? Thanks for taking the time to read this and thanks in advance for any answers.

Last edited by shadowfocus603; 06-14-2016 at 9:51 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 06-15-2016, 8:59 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Re: Engine swapped. Wiring help.

Don't know if this helps or not?
A "jobber" does a job. Bulb, ECU, fan, etc. So the idea is 'wire in is wire out' and what is in between those wires is the jobber. The easy part of wire-in-wire-out is that it takes a ground and takes a hot to run the [jobber] fan.

The 3rd variable is the 3rd wire being the trigger. So the fan's posi might be wired to the water temp sensor and that sensor usually has 3 wires... hot-ground-trigger the fan. So the fan's hot wire is going to be triggered by a water temp threshold and thus turns the fan on.

So you need to figure out who is the 3rd trigger wire if the fan [jobber] only has 2 wires... if it calls for one or not? See that 3rd wire as well with the kill switch to spark box?
post #3 of 3 Old 06-15-2016, 10:45 AM