03 954RR idle issue on start up - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-26-2016, 7:47 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

03 954RR idle issue on start up

hello everyone i have a 954rr with 18xxx miles and when i start the bike i have to hold the throttle or the bike will shut off. after about 10-20 seconds the bike will idle perfectly as if there is no issue. whether its warm cold it makes no difference. i can ride for 2 hours stop to get gas or do anything for just a second or hours and it does the same thing. rough when it first starts i have to play with the throttle and hold it for 10-20 seconds then it idles beautifully. i am a auto mechanic so im very mechanically inclined just not to familiar with bikes even tho i know they are pretty much the same. the issue is annoying and idk what else to do. i checked the normal spark plugs, air filter, fuel filter etc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 06-26-2016, 8:14 PM
Heeza Y Zasch

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 59

Re: 03 954RR idle issue on start up

welcome to the site ...and the world of 954 electrical issues

I'd like to take a guess and say your MIL (red LED on the gaugepod) is illuminated? if so, do you know how to check for codes?

I have an idea what's wrong with it, but it's purely an educated guess without knowing a code.

Looking forward to your reply.

non-Honda fleet: EX250JAF, VL1500LC, ZX600-E1, ZX600-E12
"Some people wonder all their lives if they've made a difference. The Marines don't have that problem." -Ronald Reagan
post #3 of 3 Old 06-26-2016, 8:36 PM
Heeza Y Zasch

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 59

Re: 03 954RR idle issue on start up