Front fork leak - OEM or AFM - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-16-2018, 3:58 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 13

Send a message via Yahoo to kahlilj
Front fork leak - OEM or AFM

My left front fork is leaking. I'm thinking the seal needs replacing. If so i can go OEM, but I'm always looking for a reasonable mods/upgrades when possible.

I'm considering replacing with racetech or ohlins. not the whole front fork, but maybe replace the innards? What are y'all thoughts on Ohlins vs Racetech. Also I'm thinking to replace OEM with Racetech Type 1 gold valve. I don't see any similar part on Ohlin's site though - just the actual fork or springs. Is there a competing valve they make?

I'm no suspension expert at all and am not sure that I can only replace the valve (along with the seals and maybe bushings?). Will this be an improvement in doing so?

Thanks for any and all feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 08-16-2018, 6:23 PM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Re: Front fork leak - OEM or AFM

Fork seals on inverted forks are a pain. They require some special tools. Seal driver and spring compressor at least. It gets more complicated quickly when you start talking about valves. Not impossible, just tricky.
kahlilj likes this.

Jim Moore
Jax, FL
post #3 of 21 Old 08-16-2018, 6:37 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 9

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by kahlilj View Post
My left front fork is leaking. I'm thinking the seal needs replacing. If so i can go OEM, but I'm always looking for a reasonable mods/upgrades when possible.