Cranks Over but won't start - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 Old 05-05-2019, 9:00 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Cranks Over but won't start

Hey everyone hope your day is going well. I am new to working on my 954 and could really use the members expertise. I took a chance and bought a bike that was partially disassembled. Based on that I have never seen it running. I have put everything together and added new spark plugs and a new battery. When I turn the key on I can hear the fuel pump initialize. When I turn it over and turn the throttle I get a mist of gas. I have checked the spark at all four Spark Plugs and they are working (albeit Cyl 4 seemed to be a little weaker. I have checked the Bank Sensor and it is working. I checked the wrapped yellow plug near the headlights and there is no burn marks. I have a Power Commander III which I disconnected and got the same result. The tank was completely empty and clean. I put in new gas. I have not checked compression, but it sounds like it is good (I know that means nothing.

Does anyone have any suggestions or insight? Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 53 Old 05-05-2019, 9:16 PM

Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 6

Re: Cranks Over but won't start

Sounds like a fuel pump issue.
spray starting fluid into the throttle bodies after you
take the airbox off and tell me if it fires,
If it fires on starting fliud, you likley have a fuel pump issue, clean it and or rebuild it.
if it wont fire on starting fluid, you likely have a safety lock out issue like clutch switch, side-stand switch, but being that the pu,p is priming,
id be looking at the fuel pump