SwingArm chain+sprockets replacement problem? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By unslow1

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-27-2019, 12:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

SwingArm chain+sprockets replacement problem?

Had a small off last August and dented swingarm so got round to changing it. I'm a diy mechanic so this was biggest job I've done, I'm diy but I'm terrible for detail and doing things right so can't figure this out? Decided to change sprockets and chain at the same time.
Bad start couldn't remove 24mm hex so went round corner to friend in garage and he did a bit of welding etc and loosened the nut. Swingarm off new (secondhand) in new sprocket on plus front sprocket here's photo.

When putting new front sprocket on couldn't tighten it even with foot hard on rear brake, it just spun in both directions. Put in gear and then was able to tighten to 54nm but not sure if I've broken something?

New rear sprocket and chain rear wheel on all tightened started engine put in first gear and chain acts like it's not seated correctly sounds very bad not smooth as before. Anyone tell me what I've done wrong?

Have to say my swing arm bolt is still loose haven't gone round to friend at garage yet to tighten swingarm bolt to 118nm would this be why my chain isn't running true? Any info appreciated Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0153.JPG‎  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 06-27-2019, 12:19 PM
Supporting Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 6

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to nigelrb
Re: SwingArm chain+sprockets replacement problem?

Sounds to me as if you've put a rear wheel spacer in the wrong side which means the chain is running on an angle and not straight.