Oil Question - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 09-16-2004, 1:24 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Oil Question

Ok guys. I'm a mechanical newbie and want to know some information. You can laugh at me all you want but at least I'll know afterwards. Anyways, I'm trying to make sure that I'm putting the oil in the right place. I've got a 97 cbr 900. I just looked at the glass screen( i guess it's the oil thingy) and noticed that it's really really low. So, where do I put the oil? I'm thinking the cap right behind the clutch cable on the transmission area. Again, you guys can help me on the terms cause I want to learn. Also, where would I add brake fluid. Lastly, for now, would it be a problem to put mobile 1 if I don't know what's currently in it? I just recently bought it from a guy and he didn't tell me what kind it was. That's all i need to know and you guys know the info so hook me up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 09-16-2004, 1:49 PM

Re: Oil Question

1. The oil is added in the place you described: it's called the "filler cap" the cap should tell you what viscosity oil is required.
2. The brake reservior is generally on the bars or clip-on area and you'll need to remove the cap to fill it
3. See if you can get ahold of the shop manual for your model bike. It will answer those and about any other question you have
post #3 of 17 Old 09-16-2004, 1:56 PM
Supporting Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 27

Garage

Sir!!... Please step away from the motorcycle.

(And order one of these)--->Linky-Do

I believe they do ship overseas.

Life always looks better through bugs on a face shield.

Last edited by cbr99xx; 09-16-2004 at 2:00 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement