horribly failed SS install - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 08-18-2003, 7:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Re: horribly failed SS install

I got some Goodridge SS lines for my 929. I've never done anything with brakes before but I figured out how they connect. I couldn't figure out how to use the bleeders and ended up taking the banjo bolts on and off a few times. I ended up snapping TWO of them due to lack of torque wrench and frustration, and put the original bolts on with the SS kit. I eventually figured out (TURN screw) how to operate the bleeders, and I have a vacuum syringe, but I just keep sucking air. I get about 10% fluid, 90% air every time I pull the syringe. Even after refilling the reserve constantly until I'd gone through a full 12oz bottle of fluid. I get a tiny bit of braking force but thats about it. I spent a good half hour at this and assume it shouldn't take anywhere near that long. Does it really take forever or do I have a leak? Do you think stock banjo bolts will work, and I need to get new crush washers? Or a whole new set of bolts/washers.

One thing I did learn is that DOT4 isn't terribly harmful. I got it all over tire, paint, caliper, rotor, hands, face, etc with no ill effects (in 24 hours).

Any advice that doesn't involve hiring a mechanic? :-p
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 08-18-2003, 7:33 PM

Uhhhh, Please tell me that you thoroughly washed the bike after getting the brake fluid on it...? You may want to if you haven't already.

Make sure everything is nice and snug and then keep at the bleeding. It will take several times of trying, especially if you are new to it so don't give up.
post #3 of 24 Old 08-18-2003, 7:34 PM Thread Starter

yeah i washed it
Sponsored Links