Rev counter bulbs burning the face plate... - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-24-2007, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Rev counter bulbs burning the face plate...

Hi folks,

I am very happy with my 98 Blade; I had the 16k service done and everything is running sweeeet. However a small problem is steadily getting worse... When I purchased the bike the rev counter was immaculate, but fairly soon after I started riding her to work on the nice days (bit infrequent at the moment) and weekends, I have noticed a small burn mark inside the rev counter....

The one mark grew a little then seemed to stop, but then to my dismay another appeared and then another...... They don't obscure the counter (they are approx 5mm in diameter) and in the top centre area but I have a fear that something is shorting inside the clock. There is the possibility that washing her may be a catalyst but have not confirmed. I don't drown the clocks but they get splashed and some water runs down the back of the screen.

It is one of the very few imperfections the bike has and I hate to look down upon it! Has anyone any idea what could be happening? Is it possible to swap out the rev counter on it's own? I will supply a picture over the weekend so you can see what I mean. The clear plastic face doesn't seem to be burned, just the black face inside...

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by SpankyBlade; 08-24-2007 at 10:44 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-24-2007, 1:30 PM

Reputation Power: 17

Re: Rev counter bulbs burning the face plate...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpankyBlade View Post
Hi folks,