O2 sensor thread sizes? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-17-2008, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
O2 sensor thread sizes?

I'm chasing an O2 sensor for a 954 which I think is M12 thread.
Can anybody confirm the size?
Also, checking fiches lots of other models seem to run M12 sensors?

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 1:06 PM
 
Join Date: 01-06-2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeracer View Post
I'm chasing an O2 sensor for a 954 which I think is M12 thread.
Can anybody confirm the size?
Also, checking fiches lots of other models seem to run M12 sensors?
I know this is a neco-post but did you ever find the answer to this? I just bought a Dynojet Autotune system and want to know if the already existing o2 sensor bung is going to work for it?

The one that comes with the Autotune system is an 18mm

Thanks!

Tom
Dark954UT is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 1:18 PM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark954UT View Post
I know this is a neco-post but did you ever find the answer to this? I just bought a Dynojet Autotune system and want to know if the already existing o2 sensor bung is going to work for it?

The one that comes with the Autotune system is an 18mm

Thanks!

Tom

My Dynojet Wideband Commander uses an M18 nut.
I've never seen an OEM midpipe with O2 sensor so I can't confirm if those are M12 or M18.
They're narrowband though so probably only 12mm?

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 1:21 PM
 
Join Date: 01-06-2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeracer View Post
My Dynojet Wideband Commander uses an M18 nut.
I've never seen an OEM midpipe with O2 sensor so I can't confirm if those are M12 or M18.
They're narrowband though so probably only 12mm?
"California Bikes" apparently come stock with an o2 Sensor. Other than seeing the sensor I don't know how to tell what constitutes a "California Bike" or how to figure out if I have one. I'm the 3rd owner so all origination information is basically lost.

So how/who did you have put the M18 bung in?
Dark954UT is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 1:25 PM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark954UT View Post
So how/who did you have put the M18 bung in?

Just drilled a hole and welded a nut on.
https://www.fireblades.org/forums/gen...ml#post1170314
I found an aluminium plug that happens to be the right thread for plugging it when not running the sensor - I think it's a rocker shaft plug or gallery plug from something, I'll endeavour to identify it sometime.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 2:29 PM
 
Join Date: 01-06-2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

I plan on running it for a while/indefinitely as my rides range from 4000' to 10,000' and I'd like to to make small mods here and there. Plus, I'm trying to use the AutoTune to replace a true Dyno tune as there is narry a Dyno in my area.

Additionally, I'm looking to get more data on the performance of each cylinder.
Dark954UT is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 2:35 PM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark954UT View Post
I plan on running it for a while/indefinitely as my rides range from 4000' to 10,000' and I'd like to to make small mods here and there. Plus, I'm trying to use the AutoTune to replace a true Dyno tune as there is narry a Dyno in my area.

Additionally, I'm looking to get more data on the performance of each cylinder.
You'd probably want to put a nut on each header then so you can move the O2 sensor around. But simply monitoring header temps is probably more than sufficient.

A dyno tune is no better than a good seat-of-the-pants tune. In my opinion you can get a better result by tuning in the actual environment you intend to ride the bike in.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 2:47 PM
 
Join Date: 01-06-2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

I have 4 cyl. (as you know) and the Autotune for my bike is the AT-200 (Single channel). So would you put 4 bungs on (one on each header) and then rotate the sensor? That seems like a lot of work. Dynojet also recommends the sensor be installed before the Cat, which I'm 80% sure my bike has as I'm running the stock exhaust and due to the existence of the OEM o2 sensor leads me to believe it's a California Bike. I wish there was a way for me to understand if it is a CA bike more concretely.

The location that the current o2 sensor is installed is after what I think is the Cat so do you see any issues with replacing the existing o2 sensor with the new one for the Autotune system?
Dark954UT is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 2:54 PM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark954UT View Post
I have 4 cyl. (as you know) and the Autotune for my bike is the AT-200 (Single channel). So would you put 4 bungs on (one on each header) and then rotate the sensor? That seems like a lot of work. Dynojet also recommends the sensor be installed before the Cat, which I'm 80% sure my bike has as I'm running the stock exhaust and due to the existence of the OEM o2 sensor leads me to believe it's a California Bike. I wish there was a way for me to understand if it is a CA bike more concretely.

The location that the current o2 sensor is installed is after what I think is the Cat so do you see any issues with replacing the existing o2 sensor with the new one for the Autotune system?

I guess you weigh up the effort against your reason for wanting to read each cylinder separately. If you have lots of money you could put four sensors in but then you'd still have to swap the connectors across, or run four seperate Autotune units.

The 954 does not have a CAT.
The first part of the VIN tells you if it's a Cali bike.

Sounds fine, grind off the OEM nut, drill the hole out, weld on the bigger nut.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 2:57 PM
 
Join Date: 01-06-2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Do you know what I should look for in the VIN to identify a "Cali bike"?

Thx for all your help BTW.

td
Dark954UT is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-15-2014, 3:00 PM Thread Starter
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230
                     
Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark954UT View Post
Do you know what I should look for in the VIN to identify a "Cali bike"?

Thx for all your help BTW.

td

SC50X - the X indicates the market.
US is 0, Cali is 1 I think - I'd have to check the manual.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Honda Motorcycle Models > Honda FireBlade

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O2 sensor from a Cali bike bladeracer Wanted 12 08-15-2008 1:59 AM
O2 sensor eliminator-954 boofawoof Honda FireBlade 1 05-29-2007 10:56 AM
Where to buy an O2 sensor? motorrider Honda FireBlade 0 04-01-2007 3:20 AM
O2 Sensor Old guy on Rocket Honda FireBlade 10 08-18-2003 3:25 AM
O2 sensor eliminator North Honda FireBlade 10 06-12-2003 5:24 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome