chain adjustment - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 7:38 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

chain adjustment

hey all. new to the forum. need help adjusting (tightening) chain. suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 8:25 PM
Global Moderator

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 25

Re: chain adjustment

Stand, wrenches(sockets) and a yardstick.
post #3 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 9:12 PM Thread Starter

Reputation Power: 0

dear lanbrown, actually, im not only new to the forum, but im also new to doing my own maintenance-other than changing the oil and filter myself. not sure of the process to tighten the chain, any other suggestions that might tell me how to do it other than, "stand, wrenches(sockets) and a yardstick."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 9:56 PM

Reputation Power: 17

http://70.85.12.34/~saf/chain_adjustment704k.wmv

Use the search function. This is a video posted up by a member on here that will go through the process. It's from this thread.

https://www.fireblades.org/forums/art...ent-video.html
post #5 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 10:12 PM

Reputation Power: 12

I always use a floor jack to get the height. Then I loosen the spindle nut,then you just turn the adjusters clockwise evenly with the marks on them to the right adjustment.
post #6 of 27 Old 07-17-2008, 10:15 PM

Reputation Power: 13

Send a message via Yahoo to curt248

You'll need a big socket. Mine is a 32mm on a 929. I tried it on my buddies 07 600rr and it's the same size on his too. You could get by with a big crescent wrench or pipe wrench or anything that opens big enough. This wrenches usually scratch up your axle bolt though.

The axle nut is on the right side