954 first bike need help! - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-18-2009, 11:50 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

954 first bike need help!

hey guys whats up new to the forum here. its an awesome forum so i had to join in. so on to the topic. ok, now i need your guys help/opinion on this topic. should the 954 be my first bike? i really dig the 954. it looks aggressive, and it sounds so nice. my uncle has one and its an awesome bike. i am not a TOTAL newb btw and i have some mileage under my belt. i actually started on a beaten up kawasaki gto 125. the meter stopped readin at 328,xxx km (204120 miles). so i rode it every single day for about 5-6 hours for a month. i got tired of the bike after one month. i want to use it mostly for commuting and for some fun. i know the power of this bike so im going to respect it with my life. what do u guys suggest?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-19-2009, 1:58 AM

Reputation Power: 13

Send a message via Yahoo to curt248
Re: 954 first bike need help!

If you have a lot of experience riding a bike you might be ok. Most of the trouble with a newbee on a big bike is that they not familar with the controls. This allows them to forget about the need to control the power. If you do try to ride a 954, do not ride more than 5 feet in first gear. You need to shift into second gear just after you get rolling. These bikes have way too much power for a newbee to be used in first gear (and even for some of us). First gear can be real jumpy and just hitting a bump the wrong way could turn your wrist and make the bike jerk or wheelie.
post #3 of 10 Old 04-19-2009, 2:41 AM
Global Moderator

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 270