98 CBR900RR idle problem - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-20-2011, 12:54 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 12

98 CBR900RR idle problem

Under heavier electrical load (ie when the brake lights are on, or the turn signals are on) she loses RPM and chugs a bit and has stalled once or twice. Just had the carbs cleaned and synced and have a 1 month old battery. It's definitely something electrical. The stealership told me it was my plugs and coils most likely and want to charge me an arm and a leg to replace them. What do y'all think? From my searches I'm thinking I need a new r/r but I'm not an expert... hoping to find some answers! Thanks!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-20-2011, 1:04 AM
Global Moderator

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 229

Re: 98 CBR900RR idle problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhhmoney View Post
Under heavier electrical load (ie when the brake lights are on, or the turn signals are on) she loses RPM and chugs a bit and has stalled once or twice. Just had the carbs cleaned and synced and have a 1 month old battery. It's definitely something electrical. The stealership told me it was my plugs and coils most likely and want to charge me an arm and a leg to replace them. What do y'all think? From my searches I'm thinking I need a new r/r but I'm not an expert... hoping to find some answers! Thanks!!

Do the tests of the charging system before you order a regulator. It may be something simple like a broken wire or loose connector.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
post #3 of 7 Old 05-20-2011, 1:09 AM Thread Starter

Quote: