Girl new to bikes- 929rr problems - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-22-2012, 1:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Girl new to bikes- 929rr problems

Hey everyone I've been browsing through this forum a while now and decided to sign up due to the lack of a helpful community in my neighborhood. I'm new to the street bike scene but definitely know my way around the garage.. Picked up a 2001 929rr a few months back ensuring I'd have plenty of time to prep it for the season. Say on the bike, ride and fell in love and now I'm stuck with a few issues. It has 9k miles nothing special done to it. The sellerdid not neglect to tell me anything because I asked questions but instead he just lied lol.
So like every other sappy 929rr/954 story it was laid down oh the left side. I emmy to change the oil and was removing the fairings and noticed oil leaking. One thing lead to another and I ended up taking it to a heliarch welder. Anyways the one bolt on the bottom right that doesn't feed into anything leaks out the back. I had it done right because the previous owner packed a **** ton of jbweld on the strator cover.
I really would appreciate some opinions on what I should do? Should I leave it alone and just rock it leaking (lol) should I use a filler like jbweld or something else like it, or maybe just drop the whole engine and replace it? If I do a motor swap where are good places to look for the 929/954 engines?

I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section! :p anyways thanks a bunch!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 01-22-2012, 2:07 PM
Global Moderator

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 230

Re: Girl new to bikes- 929rr problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by 929Girl View Post