So I bought a power commander... - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda FireBlade Discussion of the Honda CBR 900RR, Honda CBR 929RR, Honda CBR 954RR, and Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-26-2012, 4:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 9

So I bought a power commander...

I got it off eBay for about $120 for my cbr 929, and I have the exhaust valve in the half open position, I just want some input on which map I should use with it? Its a PC3 and i've never used one before but right now my bike runs kind of sluggish especially around low rpms. And I can't even figure out how to download any maps from the power commander website so any help is appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 01-26-2012, 4:57 PM

Reputation Power: 11

Re: So I bought a power commander...

Go to the website. www.powercommander.com
CLick on the left where it says race
DO the model and year
Click where it says install maps
pc3 usb
Then download map
Save under a gangsta ass name so u can find it
and then send map to power commander!
Turn on and checkto see if the map has been sent
post #3 of 20 Old 01-26-2012, 5:02 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 198

If you're using Windows Vista, that could be why you're having download problems. I could never make them work. As soon as I tried my other laptop with Windows XP they downloaded no problem.
Which map to use? Well, the one that closest matches your bikes setup. What exhaust system are you running?
I think you probably already know this, but if your bike is running amiss, the PC wont cure that. Not at all. All the PC does is smooth out the air/fuel mixture, which almost always needs to be adjusted with any aftermarket exhaust. The download map is a start to accomplish that. But you really should take it to the Dyno and get the custom map made for YOUR bike.