Maintenance ?'s - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Honda RC51 Discussion of the Honda RC51, Honda SP1, and Honda SP2 Motorcycles.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-21-2006, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Maintenance ?'s

I want to perform the 8,000 mile service on my 01' RC51. I was looking at the manual and they really dont tell you how to change the coolant on the RC. My question is on the procedure of changing the coolant, and what brand and type of coolant I should change it with? Also what brand of oil and filters are you guys using on your RC's? Are there any places online that I could get maintenance items cheaper than the dealer? Sorry for al the questions, but this is my first time I will be performing my own work on my bike as you can probably tell.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-21-2006, 4:38 PM

Re: Maintenance ?'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by boostede36
I want to perform the 8,000 mile service on my 01' RC51. I was looking at the manual and they really dont tell you how to change the coolant on the RC. My question is on the procedure of changing the coolant, and what brand and type of coolant I should change it with? Also what brand of oil and filters are you guys using on your RC's? Are there any places online that I could get maintenance items cheaper than the dealer? Sorry for al the questions, but this is my first time I will be performing my own work on my bike as you can probably tell.
1. Buy a service manual. In it you'll find the procedure to drain and refill the coolant.
2. Change it with the coolant you can find at your Honda dealer.
3. oil and filters are debateable. I use either a mobil 1 filter or amsoil filter, oem filter when I don't have time to find one of the previously mentioned.
I'm running Mobil 1 15w 30 EP full synthetic right now, but I usually use Amsoil.