Is there a need for a Techie forum? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

View Poll Results: How many of you would like to see a dedicated techie forum?
Yes 5 83.33%
No 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 10-29-2012, 8:12 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 09-09-2007
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 21,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 290
                     
Send a message via MSN to setanta
Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Seems to me that as we all have PCs, smartphones, digital cameras, GPS etc Im thinking that we really could do with a forum dedicated to it

So what do the rest of you think?

Oh I just got the new Kindle Fire HD anyone else got it?




Irish's Blog Page
Hate this Skin
Assalam-o-Alaikum
setanta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 Old 10-29-2012, 8:58 AM
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 229
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by setanta View Post
Seems to me that as we all have PCs, smartphones, digital cameras, GPS etc Im thinking that we really could do with a forum dedicated to it

So what do the rest of you think?

Oh I just got the new Kindle Fire HD anyone else got it?

I have PC's and digital cameras but my mobile phone is purely for phone calls (I rarely even use it for texting or photos) and I have no need for GPS.
But I might be interested in such a forum as a chance to learn some new stuff.

Tonight I'm trying to circumvent the password on my daughter's laptop. It was stolen a couple of years ago but we got it back recently. Of course, my daughter doesn't remember the password so I pulled the drive and dumped her data to my box via USB. We can now format and install Win7, but it would be easier for me if I can just find a way around the Vista password.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
post #3 of 39 Old 10-29-2012, 9:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 09-09-2007
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 21,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 290
                     
Send a message via MSN to setanta
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Thats the point, hopefully we can help each other

Try these, hope you manage
Reset User Account Password - Vista Forums




Irish's Blog Page
Hate this Skin
Assalam-o-Alaikum
setanta is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 5:43 AM
 
Join Date: 04-03-2012
Location: Chasing range rovers.
Posts: 3,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 113
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeracer View Post
I have PC's and digital cameras but my mobile phone is purely for phone calls (I rarely even use it for texting or photos) and I have no need for GPS.
But I might be interested in such a forum as a chance to learn some new stuff.

Tonight I'm trying to circumvent the password on my daughter's laptop. It was stolen a couple of years ago but we got it back recently. Of course, my daughter doesn't remember the password so I pulled the drive and dumped her data to my box via USB. We can now format and install Win7, but it would be easier for me if I can just find a way around the Vista password.
When all else fails, THIS works a treat.

If the bike isn't braking properly, you don't start by rebuilding the engine.
Sky91 is offline  
post #5 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 6:41 AM
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 229
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky91 View Post
When all else fails, THIS works a treat.

Yep, found that from Ray's link :-)
Will try it later on tonight if I get a chance and let you know how I get on.

Something else that occurred to me, I've just built a new PC and the research is always fairly grueling I find :-)
I got some invaluable assistance from a South African guy on a flight sim forum and I'm very happy with the result, so much so that a mate is building another system along similar lines.
No idea whether that's something we could address or not but it might be useful to some people to be able to bounce ideas around. I was actually going to post here if I was unsuccessful on the other forum :-)

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
post #6 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 9:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 09-09-2007
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 21,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 290
                     
Send a message via MSN to setanta
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Thats the purpose of starting this thread Larry all things techie discussed, there must be a few really good smart peeps on here.
Although I did hope for a dedicated forum, for example we have literally 3 threads in this one.
More examples are ..Window 8 just released rooting mobis and tablets, help and tricks with gadgets?




Irish's Blog Page
Hate this Skin
Assalam-o-Alaikum
setanta is offline  
post #7 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 9:26 AM
 
Join Date: 04-03-2012
Location: Chasing range rovers.
Posts: 3,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 113
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Best advice I can give for Windows 8 - DON'T DO IT !! Especially if you have to administer servers using the new Metro interface. Absolute nightmare.

If the bike isn't braking properly, you don't start by rebuilding the engine.
Sky91 is offline  
post #8 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 9:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 09-09-2007
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 21,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 290
                     
Send a message via MSN to setanta
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky91 View Post
Best advice I can give for Windows 8 - DON'T DO IT !! Especially if you have to administer servers using the new Metro interface. Absolute nightmare.
Oh it would only be for my laptop....simples




Irish's Blog Page
Hate this Skin
Assalam-o-Alaikum
setanta is offline  
post #9 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: 04-03-2012
Location: Chasing range rovers.
Posts: 3,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 113
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

My original message still stands. Especially if you don't have touchscreen.

If the bike isn't braking properly, you don't start by rebuilding the engine.
Sky91 is offline  
post #10 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 10:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 09-09-2007
Location: Caithness, Scotland
Posts: 21,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 290
                     
Send a message via MSN to setanta
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky91 View Post
My original message still stands. Especially if you don't have touchscreen.
Got touchscreen on my tablet




Irish's Blog Page
Hate this Skin
Assalam-o-Alaikum
setanta is offline  
post #11 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 11:46 AM
Supporting Member
 
mdamaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 12
   
Send a message via MSN to mdamaso
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky91 View Post
Best advice I can give for Windows 8 - DON'T DO IT !! Especially if you have to administer servers using the new Metro interface. Absolute nightmare.
Nah, learn it now while you can. Everything is going that way so you'll have to learn it eventually. I prefer the server manager in 2012 over the 2K8 myself, but it does take a tad getting used to.
mdamaso is offline  
post #12 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 11:48 AM
Supporting Member
 
mdamaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-2009
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 12
   
Send a message via MSN to mdamaso
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by setanta View Post
Oh it would only be for my laptop....simples
I'd say if you are getting a new laptop, get one with it. I'd vote against upgrading. You might have driver (hardware) nightmares :-).
mdamaso is offline  
post #13 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 12:00 PM
 
Join Date: 09-07-2012
Location: Beaufort SC
Age: 42
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 11
         
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladeracer View Post
I have PC's and digital cameras but my mobile phone is purely for phone calls (I rarely even use it for texting or photos) and I have no need for GPS.
But I might be interested in such a forum as a chance to learn some new stuff.

Tonight I'm trying to circumvent the password on my daughter's laptop. It was stolen a couple of years ago but we got it back recently. Of course, my daughter doesn't remember the password so I pulled the drive and dumped her data to my box via USB. We can now format and install Win7, but it would be easier for me if I can just find a way around the Vista password.
you can go around the password and reset it.

as the laptop is booting up, hit F5 and boot the laptop into a force safe mode.

once in safemode open the control panel and find users. in safemode you have the highest admin controls. you can adjust and or reset the password.

reboot the laptop and enjoy
Holder is offline  
post #14 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: 09-07-2012
Location: Beaufort SC
Age: 42
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 11
         
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

i would say yes. as the forum is growing, we all will eventually have questions and problems like the one that BR is facing at the moment. a specific area for that would be convenient to say the least
Holder is offline  
post #15 of 39 Old 10-30-2012, 1:31 PM
Global Moderator
 
bladeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-2003
Location: Perth, WestOz
Age: 53
Posts: 32,034
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 229
                     
Re: Is there a need for a Techie forum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky91 View Post
Best advice I can give for Windows 8 - DON'T DO IT !! Especially if you have to administer servers using the new Metro interface. Absolute nightmare.

I've built my system with Win7 64-Bit but my mate is wanting to go with Win8 - purely because it's newer. He figures he has to transition from Vista to a new OS anyway so he might as well learn the latest one.
I'm only on one game forum and most of the new posts the day after the release were Win8 problems. Something to do with poor compatibility with earlier versions of .NET I think. I have no idea though if that's an anomoly or if other games and software are having similar problems.

I was not looking forward to learning Win7 after more than ten years of XP but I'm generally impressed with it. It certainly has some annoyances but overall I think it's pretty good. I've only rebooted it once since I put it together and that only to install the video card when it finally showed up.

"I won't forget that ride for a while. Maybe you're right. Living fast might be worth the final crash. Maybe that's the secret you fliers know." - Flight of the Intruder
bladeracer is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to forum LEWIS1220 Introductions 6 02-23-2010 8:19 PM
New to the forum #1 CBR General Discussion 7 01-31-2010 4:54 AM
Need techie help, please- anyone use GoToMyPC ? CBRVFR Off-Topic 12 11-20-2004 12:04 AM
Techie stuff ND4SPD Off-Topic 3 06-01-2004 8:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome