IE7? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 9:05 PM Thread Starter
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
ConqSoft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 9:56 PM
 
Join Date: 05-08-2003
Location: Flyover Country
Posts: 8,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 28
       
Re: IE7?

Interestings stuff, but I've been thinking about a Mac for some time now and I'm not sure a new and improved MSIE would be enough to dissuade me. No matter how good the software gets, it seems like all the malicious code the hackers write is for Gates' stuff because they're pissed off he built an empire.

It's too bad because as a rule I like MS stuff, but I think it'll be a totally different machine and OS next time around.

My layman opinion only, YMMV.
Chain is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: IE7?

Been there. Done that. Got the t-shirt. Will never go back to mac. Just doesn't work for my needs... And, with all the people bragging about how there are no viruses for OS/X, you know people are working on them just to say they did it...
ConqSoft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:43 PM
 
luvtolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-01-2001
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 45
                 
Re: IE7?

MS: What should be done?

LTL: Easy, pop up blocker and spyware blockers. That is all. My consulting fee will be a new 1000RR. Thanks.




...in bed.
-------------------------------------

...you are trying to insult me, and I agree it is very easy to do, if you haven't sufficient respect for yourself. - Tolstoy

Last edited by luvtolean; 08-08-2004 at 11:43 PM.
luvtolean is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: IE7?

LTL,

Windows XP SP2 covers those requests. No need to wait for IE7.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:45 PM
 
luvtolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-01-2001
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 45
                 
Re: IE7?

I have it. I still get pop-ups...

I haven't had spyware problems though.

Edit, never had spyware on my other comps either though. I do end up fixing lots of friend's and family's computers with that **** and it is irritating.




...in bed.
-------------------------------------

...you are trying to insult me, and I agree it is very easy to do, if you haven't sufficient respect for yourself. - Tolstoy

Last edited by luvtolean; 08-08-2004 at 11:48 PM.
luvtolean is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:49 PM Thread Starter
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: IE7?

How'd you get ahold of SP2 already?
ConqSoft is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:53 PM
 
luvtolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-01-2001
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 45
                 
Re: IE7?

Maybe I'm wrong...

If I goto Help --> About IE

I get: Version 6.0.2800.1106.xpsp2...

Is that not SP2?




...in bed.
-------------------------------------

...you are trying to insult me, and I agree it is very easy to do, if you haven't sufficient respect for yourself. - Tolstoy
luvtolean is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:54 PM
 
luvtolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-01-2001
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 45
                 
Re: IE7?

My OS is indeed SP1 found in the system folder.




...in bed.
-------------------------------------

...you are trying to insult me, and I agree it is very easy to do, if you haven't sufficient respect for yourself. - Tolstoy

Last edited by luvtolean; 08-08-2004 at 11:57 PM.
luvtolean is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 08-08-2004, 11:55 PM
Supporting Member
 
SomeStrangeGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-2001
Location: Around here.
Posts: 4,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 34
                 
Re: IE7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
How'd you get ahold of SP2 already?
who doesen't have sp2? RC1/2 are on technet

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTL
I have it. I still get pop-ups...
turn on popup blocking already then
SomeStrangeGuy is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 08-09-2004, 12:02 AM
 
luvtolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-01-2001
Location: Lost
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 45
                 
Re: IE7?

And now I have SP2/RC2 downloading.

Thanks SSG...




...in bed.
-------------------------------------

...you are trying to insult me, and I agree it is very easy to do, if you haven't sufficient respect for yourself. - Tolstoy

Last edited by luvtolean; 08-09-2004 at 12:03 AM.
luvtolean is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 08-09-2004, 1:01 AM Thread Starter
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: IE7?

RC2 was supposed to be pulled, since it's gold now and has already begun distribution... But it'll be sent to system with auto-update turned on, in stages, so they don't overload their servers. They suggest not running RC2 on a "production" machine. So, if it's your only machine, you may want to wait on the final one.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 08-09-2004, 7:49 AM
 
ND4SPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-2002
Location: US
Age: 16
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 50
                     
Re: IE7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luvtolean
I have it. I still get pop-ups...

I haven't had spyware problems though.

Edit, never had spyware on my other comps either though. I do end up fixing lots of friend's and family's computers with that **** and it is irritating.
You my friend need the Google toolbar. http://toolbar.google.com
ND4SPD is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 08-09-2004, 7:51 AM
 
TGZ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Age: 41
Posts: 7,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
   
Send a message via AIM to TGZ13
Re: IE7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ND4SPD
You my friend need the Google toolbar. http://toolbar.google.com
Such a great tool... and you can't beat the price either
TGZ13 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 08-09-2004, 11:19 AM
 
Join Date: 02-22-2004
Posts: 3,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Send a message via MSN to matt232
Re: IE7?

Be warry of WinXP SP2, it is security orientated not compatability orientated, and microsoft (at last in Australia) have said if third party software doesn't work then the manuafacturer has to fix the problem. So if you install SP2 and your favourite application doesn't work, your up **** creek without a paddle until you can get a update, free download or $ for the next version of it.

So I'd be making damn sure I can rollback the install before commiting to it.
matt232 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome