Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8 - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:02 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

I shot some on-board video (Sony TRV27 miniDV) with a 480 line resolution helmet cam. *When I play the video using the camera hooked up to the TV the quality is superb. *However, when I capture it to my computer using the DV (highest quality) mode and than burn it to a cd in the VCD format the quality goes all to hell. *The picture becomes very blocky and blurry. *Is there some other format I should try burning it in or is there something I'm doing wrong?

The videos Flasher shot last year at Grattan look much better (resolution/quality wise) than mine. *What gives? *

TIA...

"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:12 PM
 
Zeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-2002
Location: Sydney, Aus
Age: 44
Posts: 3,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

I'm not 100% about VCD format, but here goes...

From memory, VCD is recorded in about the same sort of quality as a regular VHS tape (ie - crap) so, you are getting about 250 lines of resolution as apposed to the 400plus you are actually recording in.

Haven't tried it yet, but there is a format called mini DVD (or something like that) and it basically saves your vids in 500 lines plus (depending on your format - NTSC/PAL etc) but on a regular CD rom - so basically, you get about 15 minutes worth of footage per CD rom.

Now, as for whether pinnacle can store it in that format, I got no idea, but I'll be finding out soon when I start converting my ride vids to CD rom...


Z...

You're f%#&king up my Chi...
Zeeman is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:14 PM
 
2OHOH2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-2003
Location: CHS, SC, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 3,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
 
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Here's your problem - VCD.

The standard is pretty low compared to what you recorded it in, so between the low res, and the high compression, you end up with a crappy result. For universal playback you could try SVCD. For PC playback try DIVX or Quicktime.

For universal, good quality, there's really only one answer - DV on to DVD...

"...and you fellas can back me up on this. Once you've seen one woman naked... you want to see the rest of them naked." -Ron White
2OHOH2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:22 PM
 
Baketech's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-2002
Location: Hoosierland, USA
Posts: 11,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 42
                   
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Whatever it is, figure it out by the weekend....I want to see some cool vids of you blasting by me in Lexington...

Edit:
BTW, I have scrapped my video plans for now. My video camera is just too heavy to be stable on the road. I'll pick the project back up when I get a modern camera that doesn't weigh so much....




Sith Apprentice
CBR929 - VFR800 - VFR800
"There is a grey blur, and a green blur. I try to stay on the grey one..." - Joey Dunlop
Baketech is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:34 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
2OHOH2954 : Here's your problem - VCD.

The standard is pretty low compared to what you recorded it in, so between the low res, and the high compression, you end up with a crappy result. For universal playback you could try SVCD. For PC playback try DIVX or Quicktime.

For universal, good quality, there's really only one answer - DV on to DVD...
I don't think the DVD player for our TV plays SVCD...not sure but will check it out. Can SVCD be played on a PC? Does Studio 8 offer the DIVX and Quicktime formats? I suppose I could look into a DVD burner...

I was hoping I could just burn some copies and send them to some friends.

Thanks for the help...Zeeman too!

"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:37 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
Baketech : Whatever it is, figure it out by the weekend....I want to see some cool vids of you blasting by me in Lexington...

Edit:
BTW, I have scrapped my video plans for now. My video camera is just too heavy to be stable on the road. I'll pick the project back up when I get a modern camera that doesn't weigh so much....
Working on it....

I mounted the helmet cam under the headlight on the front fairing and kept the camcorder in the trunk wrapped in foam. I'm amazed at the quality of footage...no shakes or jiggles and the picture is crystal clear. One caveat though...my wife watched the video and was noticeably freaked out when she saw just how fast we were riding!

"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:42 PM
 
Baketech's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-2002
Location: Hoosierland, USA
Posts: 11,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 42
                   
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
Red Rider : One caveat though...my wife watched the video and was noticeably freaked out when she saw just how fast we were riding! *
LOL...I hear you!
I decided to test mine out while Michelle was out of town....that way she couldn't blast me for it...

Sith Apprentice
CBR929 - VFR800 - VFR800
"There is a grey blur, and a green blur. I try to stay on the grey one..." - Joey Dunlop
Baketech is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:43 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
Red Rider : I mounted the helmet cam under the headlight on the front fairing and kept the camcorder in the trunk wrapped in foam.
Careful. Your front fender WILL hit it when riding hard.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:46 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
ConqSoft : Quote (Red Rider @ July 14 2003, 1:37pm)I mounted the helmet cam under the headlight on the front fairing and kept the camcorder in the trunk wrapped in foam.
Careful. *Your front fender WILL hit it when riding hard.
I wondered about that, but there are no signs of contact after a full day of hard braking/riding around Grattan. *Thanks for the advice...I may move it just to be safe.




"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:48 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
Red Rider : Quote (ConqSoft @ July 14 2003, 1:43pm)Quote (Red Rider @ July 14 2003, 1:37pm)I mounted the helmet cam under the headlight on the front fairing and kept the camcorder in the trunk wrapped in foam.
Careful. *Your front fender WILL hit it when riding hard.
I wondered about that, but there are no signs of contact after a full day of hard braking/riding around Grattan. *Thanks for the advice...I may move it just to be safe.
Wow. I nailed mine at the gap, street riding.

Has your front end been redone? Mine was stock, with full preload. (I weight about 155lbs)
ConqSoft is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:52 PM
 
Mattress's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-2002
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
Red Rider : One caveat though...my wife watched the video and was noticeably freaked out when she saw just how fast we were riding! *
My mom got sick watching my videos and almost *
Mattress is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 1:54 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

If it's not for track use, could always use my alternate mounting location...

Pic 1
Pic 2
ConqSoft is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 2:03 PM
 
Join Date: 06-23-2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
 
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

thread un-hijacked.

Generally, you need a good software DVD solution to play SVCD. PowerDVD or WinDVD should be able to play SVCDs.

SVCD from what I understand, is basically MPEG2 video stream with MPEG1 audio. I read that before, but dont' hold me to it.

Studio 8 should allow creation of a DVD compatible MPEG file. However, it is kind of stupid in the way it handles it.... I had problems using a third party app to author a DVD from the file it spits out - however, on a PC with DVD decoder it was fine.

From Make Movie Tab > MPEG > Settings > Make MPEG File > DVD Compatible.

You'll get a huge .MPG in the end with DVD-like quality.

Be fast or be last.
asiliat is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 5:15 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
ConqSoft : Has your front end been redone? *Mine was stock, with full preload. *(I weight about 155lbs)
Yep...the DK special! That must be the difference as I just checked it again after reading your post and there is no sign of contact with the front fender. I weigh 185 lbs. btw...

"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-14-2003, 5:25 PM Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Red Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-23-2001
Location: Motor City, Michigan
Age: 60
Posts: 8,596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 47
                     
Re: Video quality with Pinnacle Studio 8

Quote:
asiliat : thread un-hijacked.

Generally, you need a good software DVD solution to play SVCD. *PowerDVD or WinDVD should be able to play SVCDs.

SVCD from what I understand, is basically MPEG2 video stream with MPEG1 audio. *I read that before, but dont' hold me to it.

Studio 8 should allow creation of a DVD compatible MPEG file. *However, it is kind of stupid in the way it handles it.... I had problems using a third party app to author a DVD from the file it spits out - however, on a PC with DVD decoder it was fine.

From Make Movie Tab > MPEG > Settings > Make MPEG File > DVD Compatible.

You'll get a huge .MPG in the end with DVD-like quality.
Thanks asiliat. I do have WinDVD installed on my PC so I'll give it a try. Does that mean that if I make a DVD compatible MPEG disc I will be able to play it through a DVD player or a PC?

You'll have to understand, I'm still trying to figure out how to program my VCR!

"It is better to post and risk reposting than to have never posted at all."




Red Rider is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pinnacle Studio 8 question G-Force Junkie Off-Topic 10 06-02-2003 9:45 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome