Auto stereo question - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 12-08-2004, 11:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Bacchus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-2002
Location: South Australia
Age: 72
Posts: 10,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 29
   
Auto stereo question

OK, this is really off topic but... I have an older Pioneer receiver/CD player(model DEH 405, not that it matters). It's now in it's second vehicle, and must be at least 8 years old. About a month ago it started sounding like I was getting poor reception from the local stations (static, cutting out, etc.). I finally realized that there must be an internal loose connection, 'cause I can tap the underside area of the player and eventually get good reception again. Any stereo people out there? Any ideas as to what I would look for, were I to take it out of the dash and pull it apart? Or should I just buy a new unit? If I can salvage it I would like to, as it otherwise performs flawlessly and is a satisfactory unit for me. TIA!

Here in Oz
Bacchus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 12-08-2004, 11:48 PM
 
sheepofblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-12-2004
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 14,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 48
                     
Send a message via AIM to sheepofblue
Re: Auto stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacchus
OK, this is really off topic but... I have an older Pioneer receiver/CD player(model DEH 405, not that it matters). It's now in it's second vehicle, and must be at least 8 years old. About a month ago it started sounding like I was getting poor reception from the local stations (static, cutting out, etc.). I finally realized that there must be an internal loose connection, 'cause I can tap the underside area of the player and eventually get good reception again. Any stereo people out there? Any ideas as to what I would look for, were I to take it out of the dash and pull it apart? Or should I just buy a new unit? If I can salvage it I would like to, as it otherwise performs flawlessly and is a satisfactory unit for me. TIA!
You could pull it out and look since it responds to taps, the part might be loose enough to see. Also after 8 years I would bet there are probably more than a few resistors open. If you get a new one be sure to get an RCA in on it for XM, iPods, etc.

Must obey the sheep dog
sheepofblue is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 12-08-2004, 11:50 PM
 
CBR929RE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-06-2004
Location: Randolph, MA
Age: 38
Posts: 12,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
                 
Send a message via AIM to CBR929RE
Re: Auto stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacchus
OK, this is really off topic but... I have an older Pioneer receiver/CD player(model DEH 405, not that it matters). It's now in it's second vehicle, and must be at least 8 years old. About a month ago it started sounding like I was getting poor reception from the local stations (static, cutting out, etc.). I finally realized that there must be an internal loose connection, 'cause I can tap the underside area of the player and eventually get good reception again. Any stereo people out there? Any ideas as to what I would look for, were I to take it out of the dash and pull it apart? Or should I just buy a new unit? If I can salvage it I would like to, as it otherwise performs flawlessly and is a satisfactory unit for me. TIA!
well when you take it apart look for any broken wires or connections on the board. check around where the antenna plugs in. but I say buy something new. they aren't that expensive especially since it seems you'd be fine with a lower model and still get more features than you have now and be happy.

if you can't convince them, confuse them.

Last edited by CBR929RE; 12-08-2004 at 11:50 PM.
CBR929RE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 Old 12-08-2004, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Bacchus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-2002
Location: South Australia
Age: 72
Posts: 10,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 29
   
Re: Auto stereo question

Yeah, I figured to just look for something obvious. But it's probably not worth the hassle, as I've certainly realized my money's worth out of this unit. Will probably just buy something new.

I just wanted to post whore anyway. Well, not really...

Here in Oz
Bacchus is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 12:08 AM
 
Join Date: 03-02-2004
Location: Melb/Vic/Aust
Age: 40
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Send a message via MSN to Cowboy1600
Re: Auto stereo question

I wouldnt bother baccy....go get urself a new one that plays MP3s and has atleast 2 rcas and ur set. My mate just got himself a pioneer P-4690MP. Its a pearler. You can turn one of the RCAs into an Aux in for ur x-box or iPod etc. Stereo stuff is really cheap these days. I have a DEH-405 in my wardrobe. Its about 6 years old, cost me about $AUD450. The 4690 was $AUD319 (on sale).

I think the DEH-405s were one of the first with pioneers Super Tuner setup. Maybe this is having a fit.

Poking the Devil with a stick then running away
Cowboy1600 is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
 
Bacchus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-15-2002
Location: South Australia
Age: 72
Posts: 10,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 29
   
Re: Auto stereo question

Good/interesting stuff Cowboy! Thanks!

Here in Oz
Bacchus is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 12:16 AM
 
CBR929RE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-06-2004
Location: Randolph, MA
Age: 38
Posts: 12,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
                 
Send a message via AIM to CBR929RE
Re: Auto stereo question

I have a couple year old Clarion and it wasn't even the highest model and I have 3 sets of RCAs. one is specific for subwoofers (I have a specific subwoofer volume control on mine, its nice) one is for any other out put you want and one is an auxillary in for stuff such as hooking up a dvd car system

if you can't convince them, confuse them.
CBR929RE is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: 03-02-2004
Location: Melb/Vic/Aust
Age: 40
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Send a message via MSN to Cowboy1600
Re: Auto stereo question

Yeah, on the 4690 you can run one of the RCAs as a subwoofer controller. Thats how my housemate has it setup. One as signal to the amp and one as controller. It works a treat

Poking the Devil with a stick then running away
Cowboy1600 is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 12:40 AM
 
CBR929RE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-06-2004
Location: Randolph, MA
Age: 38
Posts: 12,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
                 
Send a message via AIM to CBR929RE
Re: Auto stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy1600
Yeah, on the 4690 you can run one of the RCAs as a subwoofer controller. Thats how my housemate has it setup. One as signal to the amp and one as controller. It works a treat
does it have a volume control specifically for whatever is run off that RCA. thats the best feature my unit has. There's the Master Volume then Sub Volume. I can turn the subs up without having to adjust the bass setting or rear speakers (if thats the way its wired but there's no RCAs in that kind of set up) like most people do. I'm still pissed that a year ago someone broke into my car and my dads truck (they were unlocked in front of our house) and they broke his radio, the faceplate wouldn't go back on. and they tried to get mine but didn't succeed so they just stole my remote. who the **** steals the remote. now I gotta lean forward and actually touch the radio. total assholes.

if you can't convince them, confuse them.
CBR929RE is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 1:15 AM
 
Join Date: 03-02-2004
Location: Melb/Vic/Aust
Age: 40
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Send a message via MSN to Cowboy1600
Re: Auto stereo question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR929RE
does it have a volume control specifically for whatever is run off that RCA. thats the best feature my unit has. There's the Master Volume then Sub Volume. I can turn the subs up without having to adjust the bass setting or rear speakers (if thats the way its wired but there's no RCAs in that kind of set up) like most people do. I'm still pissed that a year ago someone broke into my car and my dads truck (they were unlocked in front of our house) and they broke his radio, the faceplate wouldn't go back on. and they tried to get mine but didn't succeed so they just stole my remote. who the **** steals the remote. now I gotta lean forward and actually touch the radio. total assholes.
Yep.....u run those rcas to a different input on the amp and that controls just 2 channels. Whatever speakers u run off those 2 channels with be altered by the subwoofer controls. It has its own equalizer, volume control, frequency cutout etc.

Poking the Devil with a stick then running away
Cowboy1600 is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 8:25 AM
 
ReaperAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-12-2003
Location: Tucson,AZ
Age: 41
Posts: 4,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 23
       
Send a message via AIM to ReaperAZ Send a message via MSN to ReaperAZ Send a message via Yahoo to ReaperAZ
Re: Auto stereo question

Baccy...you can always take it out and BUY A NEW ONE Mr. Cheapo.

You can even go to the "HOME, HOME, HOME OF THE $1 ELECTRICAL FIRE"


I do see where you are coming from though, I had a Alpine that I loved and had for the four years I was in High School and two out of HS. I loved that thing and it started having issues and I had to "retire" it. It was a sad day, but I was happy once I ponied up the moola for a brandy new one.


Dano

Dan

Last edited by ReaperAZ; 12-09-2004 at 8:39 AM.
ReaperAZ is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 8:36 AM
 
OSIRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-07-2001
Location: VA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
         
Re: Auto stereo question

Just buy a new one
Something like this should be all you need.
OSIRIS is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: 11-10-2002
Location: Highlands,NJ
Age: 51
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: Auto stereo question

It's probably the tuner. The antenna is just a coax cable. the center is the mast and the sheild is chassis ground. It should be grounded inside the radio to the chassis of the radio itself. You can do simple continuity tests to make sure the antenna is working properly and the connector (usually Motorola) is O.K.

Now is a good time to buy though. I just got 20% off the Clarion DXZ745MP. They have a lot of inventory and want them gone before the end of year. There are good deals out there now, you can get a higher end model for mid level prices.
BillAce is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 10:23 AM
 
ND4SPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-2002
Location: US
Age: 16
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 50
                     
Re: Auto stereo question

Looks like a pretty good unit for the money http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...roductID=13666
ND4SPD is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 12-09-2004, 11:03 AM
 
Northern RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-13-2004
Location: Living in Barrie, thinking about the gap
Age: 39
Posts: 1,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Send a message via MSN to Northern RR
Re: Auto stereo question

Gotta throw in my 2 cents, I have always had Alpine head units, and had nothing but good luck with them. Good features and lots of little things that you will probably never use. I know that I got mine for around 400 Canadian and it plays just about everything that you can throw at it. MP3'S CD'S burned CDs plus it has a plug in for an Alpine 6 disc(not fm modulated, so it sounds better) as well as three pre outs for what ever you want to do with them, sub volume sontrol, time corection, bass focus, built in high and low pass cross overs,auxialiry inputs, lots of good crap. Good customer support and waranty too, like I said though just my $.02

Canada post has came and gone, now they are coming again ...
Northern RR is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto related question... Bacchus Off-Topic 13 08-04-2004 11:42 PM
Heli Bars on an older 900rr, question?? Doug K Honda FireBlade 4 06-04-2004 11:31 AM
900rr rear seat question. WantaHonda Honda FireBlade 1 04-22-2004 11:39 AM
Moving Question? JBird General Discussion 5 03-16-2004 8:22 PM
Question for IT guys (Source Control Question) Pulse Off-Topic 7 12-19-2003 7:49 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome