Question for all those in Network jobs - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-01-2005, 3:20 PM Thread Starter
CRU

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19

Question for all those in Network jobs

How did you manage to get into those jobs?

Here's the situation.

Though I have been trained in UNIX, Windows OS/Networks, and Oracle/SQL databases, I have been working in the software side of things for several years now. I'm beginning to get burnt out. I've always loved the hardware side, though. Networks, peripherals, PCs, etc. I receive a greater feeling of accomplishment whenever I do something with hardware. Probably cause I can directly see the fruit of my labor. But it has been very difficult to get a job in such positions. Most places want goggles of experience and certifications just to be a do-boy.

Short of a college degree, how exactly did you get into those positions? I've been lucky enough to work in positions that usually require degrees and I've manage to excel and progress to greater opportunities, often times surpassing coworkers with formal degrees.

I will soon have the opportunity, through work, to take the Windows 2003 MCSE tests. Will this help to be able to break into an elusive network position?

Confucius say, "Foolish man give wife piano. Wise man give wife upright organ."

Last edited by CRU; 03-01-2005 at 3:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-01-2005, 4:57 PM

Reputation Power: 48

Send a message via AIM to sheepofblue
Re: Question for all those in Network jobs

In the government contracts I work you need either a degree or military time.

Must obey the sheep dog
post #3 of 9 Old 03-01-2005, 5:14 PM

Reputation Power: 0