Direcway - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Direcway

Did the speed test on their site. Wonder if I should switch over?

Last edited by ConqSoft; 12-08-2006 at 3:42 AM.
ConqSoft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:09 PM
 
Join Date: 08-15-2002
Posts: 10,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
   
Re: Direcway

Bacchus is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:14 PM
 
Join Date: 10-07-2001
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
         
Re: Direcway

I think that service was a little over $60 a month here too
OSIRIS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:20 PM
 
sheepofblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-13-2004
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 14,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 48
                     
Send a message via AIM to sheepofblue
Re: Direcway

Yep my connection doesn't even exist according to them
Attached Thumbnails
speed.jpg‎  

Must obey the sheep dog
sheepofblue is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:56 PM
 
Join Date: 05-11-2004
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: Direcway

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
Did the speed test on their site. Wonder if I should switch over?
I feel sorry for anybody that actually does 'switch to direcway'. Well, that is unless they enjoy 400ms or greater latency.

Edit: Conq, what kind of connection do you have? Thats incredible bandwidth!

Last edited by literbike; 03-24-2005 at 11:57 PM.
literbike is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 03-24-2005, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: Direcway

Yeah, Direcway is $59.95/month. It's good if you're in the middle of nowhere and have no other choice for high speed...
ConqSoft is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 12:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: Direcway

Quote:
Originally Posted by literbike
Edit: Conq, what kind of connection do you have? Thats incredible bandwidth!
Time Warner Cable (RoadRunner) I have the 5mbps "Standard" connection. They also have an 8mbps Premium option.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 10:04 AM
 
showmethebombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-2001
Location: Vermont
Age: 42
Posts: 4,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 23
 
Send a message via AIM to showmethebombs Send a message via MSN to showmethebombs Send a message via Yahoo to showmethebombs
Re: Direcway

ah, didn't even work for me. Maybe it is the company firewall...doubt it but maybe.

Monday I am putting ADSL2+ in my house!!!

Team Honda - well sorta...
showmethebombs is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: 01-27-2003
Posts: 5,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: Direcway

Almost went with them once. Setup was costly, think it was like 300 and change, then the monthly bill to boot. Ended up with cable modem, cheaper, faster install, less hassles.
Mojave954 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 10:32 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: Direcway

Yeah, if Cable or DSL is available to you, that's the way you should go.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 11:04 AM
 
sheepofblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-13-2004
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 14,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 48
                     
Send a message via AIM to sheepofblue
Re: Direcway

Quote:
Originally Posted by literbike
Edit: Conq, what kind of connection do you have? Thats incredible bandwidth!
Mine smoked his and wasn't photoshopped. Of course I question their meter a bit.

Must obey the sheep dog
sheepofblue is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 12:15 PM
dB
 
Join Date: 04-17-2002
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
   
Re: Direcway

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
Yeah, Direcway is $59.95/month. It's good if you're in the middle of nowhere and have no other choice for high speed...
Satellite is my only broadband option right now (just North of nowhere), but I can't get myself to pay that price for that bandwidth. Hope something else comes along soon or I may have to cave. 24Kbaud dial-up ain't gettin' 'er done.
dB is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 12:31 PM
 
Join Date: 02-07-2002
Posts: 10,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
                     
Re: Direcway

I had to use DirecWay for a few months. Do NOT get it. Ever. You MIGHT get decent download speeds on occasion, but the upload speeds suck.
You are much better off with dialup, as 24K is faster than the upload speeds you'll ever see. And the latency kills any speed advantage over dialup on the download side.
It was the only "broadband" option available to me for a few months, so I went for it and regret it 100%.
They shouldn't call it broadband. The speed is nonexistent and their service department is even worse.
Stick with your dialup.
BDA116 is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: Direcway

A friend of mine has it and the speeds aren't bad at all. How long ago did you use it?
ConqSoft is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 03-25-2005, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: 02-07-2002
Posts: 10,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
                     
Re: Direcway

About two years ago. Maybe their service has gotten better, I don't know. But I really had a horrible experience with them. I even tried all sorts of tweaks to get some decent speed, but it just didn't work.
Then there were all the days it would just flat out stop working. That would really piss me off. More than once I was in the middle of remote administration of a router or firewall and the service would just drop and wouldn't come back up for hours. And these were clear summer days.
I'm glad your friend has had luck with them, but I could never recommend it.
BDA116 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome