Laptop - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
 
ReaperAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-12-2003
Location: Tucson,AZ
Age: 41
Posts: 4,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
       
Send a message via AIM to ReaperAZ Send a message via MSN to ReaperAZ Send a message via Yahoo to ReaperAZ
Laptop

I have the opprotunity to get the following.

Compaq Armada M700, Pentium III, 700 Mhz, 192 MB RAM, 6.4 GB hard drive, CD ROM, Modem, Battery, Power Cord.

Is this an alright laptop? Will be used for general computer stuff, no gaming, just web stuff and things like that.

Dan
ReaperAZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 10:53 AM
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: Laptop

How much?
ConqSoft is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 10:55 AM
 
ND4SPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-2002
Location: US
Age: 16
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 50
                     
Re: Laptop

Run the other way.
ND4SPD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 10:57 AM
 
soon2b954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-02-2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 2,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
 
Re: Laptop

If you get the unit cheap it will be fine for what you describe.

Look, lean, believe!!
soon2b954 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 11:13 AM
 
Join Date: 06-13-2001
Posts: 3,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
     
Re: Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaperAZ
I have the opprotunity to get the following.

Compaq Armada M700, Pentium III, 700 Mhz, 192 MB RAM, 6.4 GB hard drive, CD ROM, Modem, Battery, Power Cord.

Is this an alright laptop? Will be used for general computer stuff, no gaming, just web stuff and things like that.
hmm, could be 5 or more years old, depending on the price, proceed with extreme caution. PIII-700 is old school fo sho!
ccwilli3 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 11:44 AM
 
Join Date: 10-07-2001
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
         
Re: Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ND4SPD
Run the other way.
unless you can get it for $50 or so
OSIRIS is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
 
ReaperAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-12-2003
Location: Tucson,AZ
Age: 41
Posts: 4,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
       
Send a message via AIM to ReaperAZ Send a message via MSN to ReaperAZ Send a message via Yahoo to ReaperAZ
Re: Laptop

It's for $150.

Dan
ReaperAZ is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 11:56 AM
 
ND4SPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-2002
Location: US
Age: 16
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 50
                     
Re: Laptop

Not worth it, if for nothing more than the fact that it's a Compaq.
ND4SPD is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 9:00 PM
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-29-2001
Location: La Crosse, Wi
Age: 38
Posts: 3,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: Laptop

for $150 go for it. unless you can afford another $450, you wont be getting a laptop new. or try $125
stegen is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 9:46 PM
SPY
 
SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2004
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
       
Send a message via AIM to SPY Send a message via MSN to SPY Send a message via Yahoo to SPY
Re: Laptop

dont do it Compaq's suck!!! i had a dell insperion it was awsome and it was a P III 750 MHz 40 gig HD DVD/CD/RW extra battery leather carrying case extra drives (floppy and ZIP 250) and i only got $150 for it and its a dell you could find a better one!
SPY is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 04-20-2005, 11:39 PM
 
Join Date: 05-28-2001
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPY
dont do it Compaq's suck!!! i had a dell insperion it was awsome and it was a P III 750 MHz 40 gig HD DVD/CD/RW extra battery leather carrying case extra drives (floppy and ZIP 250) and i only got $150 for it and its a dell you could find a better one!
where can I find a deal like that!?
Rios929 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-21-2005, 12:13 PM
SPY
 
SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2004
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
       
Send a message via AIM to SPY Send a message via MSN to SPY Send a message via Yahoo to SPY
Re: Laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rios929
where can I find a deal like that!?

i had it on ebay about a year ago and had a reserve of 400 bucks and the buyer never sent the money so i sold it to a friend for 150

never thought to try to sell it on the .org
SPY is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 04-21-2005, 3:14 PM
 
Join Date: 07-20-2001
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
     
Re: Laptop

I am using a dell p3-750 and a IBM t-20 P3-700. I like my IBM as everything is built in. I installed a 7200 rpm IBM travelstar and the difference is amazing.

As for as a compaq offer a $100 as they do suck. To replace a HD in them you need to install a softpack that creates a system partition. The info in the system partition is an abstraction layer for windows to see the hardware properly. Some companys would have you update firmware on chips to say update your 33.6 modem to a 56k (example) Compaq would just have you update the partition..

They are a pain to deal with but with it being that old I suppose all the bugs would have been addressed by compaq by now. That is of course asuming this is a business grade laptop like their armada. If this is a bestbuy special well then if they worked out the kinks at all they were late in coming.
Johnny Diablo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"old PCIII" new laptop compatibility Fire929blade General Discussion 4 12-05-2004 2:32 PM
new laptop computer colryn Off-Topic 7 10-14-2004 1:57 PM
Sony Laptop SLODUCK Off-Topic 9 09-10-2004 4:49 PM
Tank bag for Laptop Camxrr Riding Gear / Luggage 12 05-07-2004 2:58 AM
LAPTOP BATTERY QUESION. Jay Off-Topic 2 09-06-2003 1:40 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome