can you load win 98 on a xp pc? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 12:17 AM Thread Starter
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-29-2001
Location: La Crosse, Wi
Age: 38
Posts: 3,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

Got a game that I have been wanting to get for years, Simcity 2000: Network edition. It only works on win 9x, not xp. I have installed linux on my xp pc but can you install win 98 on a xp pc too?

Life is Good, Life is Great
stegen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 12:22 AM
 
Mattress's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-31-2002
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

You might be able to dual-boot it, I've never tried xp and 98, I've done 2000 and 98, NT and 95, 95 and 98,and they were all a PITA
Mattress is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 2:41 AM
 
Join Date: 06-10-2001
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 57
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

From my experience, to run Win 9x and XP you have to install the Win 98 first. I don't have any exposure to it, but System Commander may be able to handle it.

My recommendation is to get a smaller HDD and some removeable trays. It is always easier to troubleshoot and rebuild if the systems stay autonomous.

Keith
Keith_929 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 2:51 AM Thread Starter
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-29-2001
Location: La Crosse, Wi
Age: 38
Posts: 3,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

so i should just get a small, say 3 gigs and load 98 on there and the game and just boot that drive and not the other?

Life is Good, Life is Great
stegen is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 7:58 AM
 
ND4SPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-2002
Location: US
Age: 16
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 50
                     
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

Quote:
stegen : so i should just get a small, say 3 gigs and load 98 on there and the game and just boot that drive and not the other?
Your XP is probably loaded onto an NTFS drive, Win9x has no idea what that is. It's never good to put 2 OS's on the same drive, they'll end up fighting each other eventually.
ND4SPD is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 9:23 AM
 
Join Date: 10-27-2002
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Age: 53
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

You can run it on XP
Right click on icon
Select properties at the bottom of the list,
Select compatibility,
Check the compatibility box,
Then select the OS you want to use.

Hope it works for you.
Keith1K is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 2:03 PM
 
soon2b954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-02-2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
 
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

Quote:
Keith_929 : From my experience, to run Win 9x and XP you have to install the Win 98 first. *I don't have any exposure to it, but System Commander may be able to handle it.

My recommendation is to get a smaller HDD and some removeable trays. *It is always easier to troubleshoot and rebuild if the systems stay autonomous.
This is the same setup as I use. Just make sure you install 98 first on partition C:\ . I have Win 98 and XP using FAT32 as security is not an issue on my home PC.

Look, lean, believe!!
soon2b954 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-03-2003, 9:23 PM Thread Starter
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-29-2001
Location: La Crosse, Wi
Age: 38
Posts: 3,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

i cant even install the game cuz it says only in win 9x

Life is Good, Life is Great
stegen is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-04-2003, 8:44 AM
 
showmethebombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-2001
Location: Vermont
Age: 42
Posts: 4,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 23
 
Send a message via AIM to showmethebombs Send a message via MSN to showmethebombs Send a message via Yahoo to showmethebombs
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

I would go with the duel boot. Your Harddrive is how big? It will need to be big enough to at least hold XP and 98...you might want to just reformat with 98 and be done with it....what do you need XP for? OR, get another hard drive, and drop it in there, load 98 on it, and then put it in when you wanna play...ghey, i know...but it would work.

Team Honda - well sorta...
showmethebombs is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-04-2003, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
 
stegen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-29-2001
Location: La Crosse, Wi
Age: 38
Posts: 3,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
   
Re: can you load win 98 on a xp pc?

I am just going to find a small hdd and put it on and load 98 on it. thanks guys

Life is Good, Life is Great
stegen is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best way to load... firebladetoronto Towing / Transport 61 08-21-2007 2:09 AM
Quick way to load a dirtbike TGZ13 Off-Topic 22 11-11-2003 2:50 PM
How to load a bike into a van. WetShrub Off-Topic 3 11-06-2003 2:10 PM
what a load of CRAP bubba Off-Topic 4 10-12-2003 6:05 PM
MotoGP - why aren't the best bikes being raced? phozed Road Racing: Professional 32 08-06-2003 1:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome