New TiVo Series 3 - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:28 PM Thread Starter
 
navydevildoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Location: Another Web Site
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
           
New TiVo Series 3

Thanks to some geeks at the CES show this week, we have gotten a glimpse at the new TiVo 3. This is a huge leap forward, bringing in pretty much all of the features people have been screaming for:

- Dual-Tuner CableCARD support, which means no more cable box
- HD Capable
- Integrated network port (finally!)
- Digital Video and Audio output

Check it out... http://www.tivolovers.com/252572.html

Pics ... http://starjewel.org/pics/tivo/
navydevildoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:33 PM
 
MrX954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-2004
Location: ManchVegas
Age: 38
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
     
Send a message via AIM to MrX954 Send a message via Yahoo to MrX954
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Strange I was just pricing out a new Tivo unit last night, mine was fried by lightning about 4 yrs ago and I just havent got around to replacing it yet..


...I may just wait a little bit longer now

X
MrX954 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:33 PM
 
Baketech's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-10-2002
Location: Hoosierland, USA
Posts: 11,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 42
                   
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Can't make up my mind if I want a standalone or a Tivo....

Sith Apprentice
CBR929 - VFR800 - VFR800
"There is a grey blur, and a green blur. I try to stay on the grey one..." - Joey Dunlop
Baketech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:35 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: New TiVo Series 3

I have a DVR from my cable provider (Time Warner). $6.95/month with no up front costs, and if it breaks they replace it, forever, so, can't beat it.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:38 PM Thread Starter
 
navydevildoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Location: Another Web Site
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
           
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
I have a DVR from my cable provider (Time Warner). $6.95/month with no up front costs, and if it breaks they replace it, forever, so, can't beat it.
Our TW DVR is VERY limited in functionality and ease of use. Yes, it records, and yes, it has HD... but that thing will be GONE the day the TiVo comes out. The TiVo interface and capabilities just blow it away. The only reason we have it is to record HD.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:38 PM
 
MrX954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-2004
Location: ManchVegas
Age: 38
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
     
Send a message via AIM to MrX954 Send a message via Yahoo to MrX954
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Is that part of a digital cable package?

X
MrX954 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:39 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX954
Is that part of a digital cable package?
Yes, you have to have digital cable to get it.
ConqSoft is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:39 PM Thread Starter
 
navydevildoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Location: Another Web Site
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
           
Re: New TiVo Series 3

OOohhhh... it's gonna have an external SATA port for more storage too. Nice.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:40 PM
 
MrX954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-2004
Location: ManchVegas
Age: 38
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
     
Send a message via AIM to MrX954 Send a message via Yahoo to MrX954
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
Yes, you have to have digital cable to get it.
oh well...

X
MrX954 is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:40 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydevildoc
Our TW DVR is VERY limited in functionality and ease of use. Yes, it records, and yes, it has HD... but that thing will be GONE the day the TiVo comes out. The TiVo interface and capabilities just blow it away. The only reason we have it is to record HD.
It records (two channels at once, while watching another recording), plays back, and pauses live TV. That's all the capability I really need.

How much will the new Tivo cost, and what's the monthly service charge?
ConqSoft is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:42 PM
 
MrX954's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-2004
Location: ManchVegas
Age: 38
Posts: 2,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
     
Send a message via AIM to MrX954 Send a message via Yahoo to MrX954
Re: New TiVo Series 3

I didn't like the $12.99/month all I want is to record stuff when I ain't home to watch it, and maaaaybe have the capapbility of recording one show while I watch another.

I did like the season pass feature but it was so hard to keep up with all the shows I had recorded.

X
MrX954 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:42 PM Thread Starter
 
navydevildoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Location: Another Web Site
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 22
           
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConqSoft
It records (two channels at once, while watching another recording), plays back, and pauses live TV. That's all the capability I really need.

How much will the new Tivo cost, and what's the monthly service charge?
Well, who knows how much the thing will cost. Monthy service is 10 bucks a month.

But, we use a lot of the more advanced features of the TiVo... streaming video between rooms, looking up upcoming shows based on actors and such, not recording re-runs, intelligent "2 minute runover" correction, etc.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 3:46 PM
 
ConqSoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-2001
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 47
Posts: 12,126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 39
             
Re: New TiVo Series 3

DVR has the option to record first-runs only (at least ours does; I have seen them vary from area to area, as my dad in SC has Time Warner and his interface is different.)
ConqSoft is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 4:14 PM
 
RRWANTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-2002
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Age: 75
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 29
             
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydevildoc
Well, who knows how much the thing will cost. Monthy service is 10 bucks a month.

But, we use a lot of the more advanced features of the TiVo... streaming video between rooms, looking up upcoming shows based on actors and such, not recording re-runs, intelligent "2 minute runover" correction, etc.
Yep, the TIVO features are the shyte compared to other DVRs I've seen...

04 600RR
RRWANTR is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 01-06-2006, 6:20 PM
 
mr_rua's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-21-2001
Location: Gainesville, VA
Age: 45
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Send a message via AIM to mr_rua
Re: New TiVo Series 3

Given the F'd up crap that DirecTV is pullin with their MPEG4 rollout and DVR's I may go the cable/Tivo 3 series.

Am I going too slow for you?
mr_rua is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*New CCS series* Great Plains Roadracing Series Tornado bait Road Racing: Club / Amateur 1 11-07-2005 10:17 AM
the series bubba Off-Topic 8 10-24-2005 12:11 PM
TIVO alert for the races this weekend on Speed RRWANTR Road Racing: Professional 1 07-23-2004 1:44 PM
tivo hackers?? MedTechRR Off-Topic 0 04-26-2004 11:57 PM
TiVo or Replay TV? DRider Off-Topic 5 09-24-2003 10:22 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome