How to change the boot up sequence? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
How to change the boot up sequence?

Got a computer from work for the kids to play on at the house. My neighbor suggested running Linux on this as the kids seem to get computer screwed up with viruses and this Linux is supposed to not be succeptable to this.

Here is my question, He give me a CD of "Puppy Linux" just to see if it would run on this computer. But I have to get the computer to boot up from the "F" drive? Some how he (on his computer) pushed some buttons and got to a screen and re-booted and it ran from his CD rom.

How can I do this?

It is now running WIN NT if that matters.

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:17 PM
 
Join Date: 07-25-2002
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

F8 on my system.
RRWANTR is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:17 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Re-boot the computer by shutting it down and then turning it back on. Look at the text that shows up immediately after power-on than says something to the effect of "Press DEL for Setup". Common keys are F1, F2, Delete, and Escape. Press the key it says to hit.

That will get you into the pre-boot setup. Look for the "Boot Order" or "Boot Priority" screen.

Oh, and god help you if you have an old dell. You have to start them from a special Setup Floppy.
navydevildoc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RRWANTR
F8 on my mb.
I'll try it. If I am not back..... It exploded.

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

It did not explode but it did not do much of anything else either.

F8 done nothing at all, F1 brought some screen up about searching something & F5 made the screen blink and F? asked me to shut down the computer.

What next?

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:25 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Dude, you have to turn the thing off first. Sounds like you have Windows NT still running. Shut it down, power it off, and as soon as you turn it back on take a look.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydevildoc

Oh, and god help you if you have an old dell.






What disc?

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:27 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

What model dell is it? Or even better, look around for a sticker on the back or bottom that mentions an Express Service Code or Service Tag. That will tell us tomes of information. It may only be a barcode sticker with a 7 character code on it.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Dell Dimension XPS T 5000
Pentium 3
Service Tag 9E75H
Express Service Code 157-789-97

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:38 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

OK... found the info... just a sec.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:41 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

When you turn on the machine and the Blue Dell logo appears, hit the Delete Key. You can hit it more than once, it won't kill it.

When the setup screen appears, hit the right arrow to go to the "Boot" benu. You will see a screen like the attached pic.

Press the down arrow until you reach the Boot Device line that contains the CD-ROM drive. Press the "+" sign to move it up the list so that it is above "Hard Drive".

Press F10 to save your changes and exit. If it asks you to confirm the exit, choose yes.

Have the CD-ROM in the drive... it should boot on the CD with no problem.

Last edited by navydevildoc; 12-15-2006 at 1:48 PM.
navydevildoc is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydevildoc
When you turn on the machine and the Blue Dell logo appears, hit the Delete Key. You can hit it more than once, it won't kill it.

When the setup screen appears, hit the right arrow to go to the "Boot" benu. You will see a screen like the attached pic.

Press the down arrow until you reach the Boot Device line that contains the CD-ROM drive. Press the "+" sign to move it up the list so that it is above "Hard Drive".

Press F10 to save your changes and exit. If it asks you to confirm the exit, choose yes.

Have the CD-ROM in the drive... it should boot on the CD with no

problem.

I'll try it, You sure it won't blow up in my face or something.

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-08-2006, 11:49 PM
 
Join Date: 02-04-2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
           
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammer
I'll try it, You sure it won't blow up in my face or something.
Well, it is a Dell.... so who the hell knows what it's gonna do!

navydevildoc is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-09-2006, 12:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-2004
Location: INDIANA
Age: 50
Posts: 4,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 33
                   
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

It did work, but it told me I was too stupid to be this far into the computer and to bring it to someone smarter that me.

The puppy tried to load but needed some other stuff D/L from the net to work so it will go to my neighbor (he is an ISP and geek) tomorrow for a tune up.

Thanks again.

It's amazing how stupid some people can be.
Hammer is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-09-2006, 12:09 AM
 
sheepofblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-13-2004
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 14,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 48
                     
Send a message via AIM to sheepofblue
Re: How to change the boot up sequence?

OK here is the true skinny. Yes Linux is harder to infect BUT it won't play the kids games etc. The better answer is some good virus s/w and firewall. Also you can set up accounts for the kids with less priveledges.

Must obey the sheep dog
sheepofblue is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change the air filter on CBR600RR Bignutz Honda CBR 600 4 04-28-2006 6:31 PM
How many forum posters does it take to change a light bulb? Red Rider Off-Topic 24 02-10-2006 11:26 AM
How many Bush Administration officials does it take to change a light bulb? Cowboy1600 Politics 11 02-17-2005 8:52 AM
How to stop Pop-Up ads? Diesel954 Off-Topic 11 09-01-2003 8:31 AM
How to change oil on a 954RR? just_john Honda FireBlade 8 07-02-2003 2:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome