SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband? - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 7:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 08-27-2002
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

which interent server is better? faster? ect?
trey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 8:01 PM
 
Join Date: 05-08-2003
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

www.dsl.com

www.dsl.com/chartpop.htm

http://www.broadband.com/
figment is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 9:25 PM
 
Join Date: 05-26-2001
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
             
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

Don't know about those specific companies but I have experience with dial-up, satellite, DSL and Cable....

Cable has been, by far, the fastest.
nhfirefighter13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 9:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 08-27-2002
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

thanks guys, wow, i thought DSL was better then broadband but from what i'm hearing cable is the way to go.
trey is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 10:05 PM
 
Join Date: 06-08-2002
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

My Pop just dumped SBC Global DSL, he was reading between 350-400 Kbps. He now has Comcast (AT&T) cable, as do I, and average 3500 - 4000 Kbps!!!
krash954 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-05-2003, 10:35 PM
 
Join Date: 07-25-2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

I've had cable internet for almost 5 years now, and will never go back to dial-up. It tends to slow down a bit after all your neighbors catch on and purchase the same, but then they up the bandwidth and all is good again. I have 4 computers networked onto the internet with a broadband router, and the connection seems just as fast with all 4 computers on at once.
ULEWZ is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-06-2003, 12:26 AM
 
Join Date: 05-10-2003
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

I dumped cable about 2 months ago and went to the slower DSL.

I run a business and uptime is more important that raw speed (plus it always took a bandwitch crap around lunchtime and just before 5:00pm when everyone was downloading the latest porn).

Instead of having days of outages (1 down day cost more in lost billable hours than 1 year of service) at a time and more than once per quarter it was too costly.

Bottom line for myseld and my business DSL has been the hands-down winner.

YMMV. Yes, the speed was nice but the horride customer service and up/down/up/down of it was more than my sanity could tollerate.

Comcrap | AT&T | @Home
Holeshot is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-06-2003, 9:37 AM
 
Join Date: 10-28-2002
Location: GA, USA
Age: 41
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

Get cable. SBC is crap, because you have to switch your phone to SBC, and SBC isn't in all areas yet. DSL isn't even as fast as high end cable (as far as I know). My max download speed with Charter cable internet is 2000kbps.

But if you really want to impress everyone, get a T1 line installed....

Last edited by ViciousRR; 12-06-2003 at 9:40 AM.
ViciousRR is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-06-2003, 10:08 AM
 
Join Date: 11-26-2002
Location: S2KI.com
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

FTTH fiber to the home. but seriously, cable.

Insignificant Member
freq is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-06-2003, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: 11-26-2002
Location: S2KI.com
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 19
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

can you get a bundling of services with a cable modem? cable, cable modem and possibly phone?

Insignificant Member
freq is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-06-2003, 10:15 AM
 
showmethebombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-09-2001
Location: Vermont
Age: 42
Posts: 4,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 23
 
Send a message via AIM to showmethebombs Send a message via MSN to showmethebombs Send a message via Yahoo to showmethebombs
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

Quote:
Originally posted by ULEWZ
I've had cable internet for almost 5 years now, and will never go back to dial-up. It tends to slow down a bit after all your neighbors catch on and purchase the same, but then they up the bandwidth and all is good again. I have 4 computers networked onto the internet with a broadband router, and the connection seems just as fast with all 4 computers on at once.

I think you might see this grow as a trend, then it might all balance out. My guess at some point you will get everything through one provider.

Team Honda - well sorta...
showmethebombs is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-16-2004, 8:49 PM
 
Join Date: 07-20-2001
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
     
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

SBC static plus package at $55 gave me 512/256 and 5 ips and is very rarely down. Couldve had a cheaper package but wanted static so I can host a page.

DSL extreme is offering 3mb down and 712 up in SBC areas for about $50 your optio of static on not. Since I will be moving this year I can commit to the contract.
Johnny Diablo is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-16-2004, 9:43 PM
 
Join Date: 12-21-2001
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0
 
Re: SBC yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

I had Comcast (ATT) cable---now I have Verizon DSL---the cable is definitely faster---but the DSL is OK---cable wasnt available where I live
Trackho is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadband freq Off-Topic 14 10-02-2003 10:33 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome