Cold Mountain - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 01-20-2004, 12:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 23

Cold Mountain

Watched the film Cold Mountain last night. Pretty impressive, maybe a tad too long for my taste, but a good story, well told and beautifully filmed and acted.

One thing that interested me though was the American accents. Film set in South Carolina.

As you'd expect, I'm no expert on US regional accents but thought that some actors sounded a bit flakey. Lead actor a Brit, lead actress an Aussie, Captain Teague played by Brit Ray Winstone (usually plays London "wide boy" i.e. crook). Renee Zelweger (Texas) seemed little over the top. All made good stabs at the Southern twang, but was it authentic or do Americans pi*s themselves laughing at their pitiful attempts?

I suppose that in the 1860s it was possible that with high levels of immigration from all parts of Europe that accents were very much a mixed bag and maybe regional ones hadn't developed, but I'm curious to find out what your thoughts are.

So, those of you that have seen it, how good were the accents? What did you think of the film?

Film was shot in North and South Carolina, Virginia and in Romania. Wherever, the scenery was truly magnificent. Very beautiful.

Last edited by Proto; 01-20-2004 at 1:30 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 01-20-2004, 1:15 PM
dB

Reputation Power: 0

Re: Cold Mountain