Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Off-Topic Discussion of anything that doesn't fit anywhere else. If it's related to motorcycles in any way, DO NOT post it here. Post it in General Discussion or a more specific forum.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 1:32 PM Thread Starter
 
TGZ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Age: 41
Posts: 7,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
   
Send a message via AIM to TGZ13
Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

I am just about done with my clean/ rejet of my carbs but I am not sure if I have to sync the carbs (I am pretty sure I do) Can anyone give me a hand finding any info on how to do it and what I would need.


Tom

EDIT: Changed "hot" to "how".

Last edited by Pete; 02-12-2004 at 2:28 PM.
TGZ13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 1:50 PM
 
NinerPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 39
Posts: 3,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
       
Send a message via AIM to NinerPilot Send a message via MSN to NinerPilot
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

Im not sure on your bike specifically, but you will need carb sticks or vaccum gauges, a small screwdriver or even better a carb-click (90 degree with detents to measure turns) and a cool bike.

The cooler the bike the more accurate the readings. Youll need to check on your specific bike, but most of the time you find the vaccum lines either plugged or hooked together, then attatch the gauges or sticks to them. It is easiest to hook them up in order so you are going left to right on the sticks and the cylinders. One cylinder will be set to where you cant change it, the other carb(s) have adjuster screws probably hidden pretty well. One at a time you will turn these screws until that cylinder synchs to the master. Repeat for all other cylinders. Remember, the warmer the engine gets the jumpier the results will be.
Chris
NinerPilot is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 1:52 PM
 
Join Date: 01-17-2002
Location: Ravenna, Ohio
Posts: 1,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 20
   
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

I did some searching awhile ago and found lots of praise for the Morgan CarbTune II unit. Can't remember the link off hand, just google Morgan Carbtune. What bike is this for?
SuperDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 1:54 PM
 
Join Date: 05-03-2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 18
 
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

Can't be done without a proper carburetor synchronization tool, which of
course you'd have to purchase (or otherwise acquire somehow). Doesn't
make any sense to do so, since your stated intent is to buy a new bike
sometime soon (hopefully), as virtually anything you're likely to get will be
fuel injected. It's probably simpler to just take your bike to a trusted dealer
(is there such a thing?) and have them sync your carbs for you. I can't
imagine it would be too expensive.

Silver/black CBR954RR
Unsanctioned, unofficial, unloved Honda test rider
RaggedEdge is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 1:56 PM Thread Starter
 
TGZ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Age: 41
Posts: 7,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
   
Send a message via AIM to TGZ13
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

Its a 93 Yamaha Seca II...

Quote:
It's probably simpler to just take your bike to a trusted dealer
This is going to sound dumb but what the hell.. I have no problem putting it all back together and having someone else do the sync but I guess it has to be just that full operational correct?

I am saving up now (even on unemployment) for my new ride. Hopefully a nice red/black F4i when the time comes

Last edited by TGZ13; 02-12-2004 at 2:00 PM.
TGZ13 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 2:21 PM
 
CBRBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-2003
Location: Central NJ
Age: 52
Posts: 1,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 18
 
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

I would reccomend screwing the vacuum ports in, attaching the hoses and plugging them up. Run or ride the bike until it is up to full temp, thats where you will be riding it right? Then connect your balance tool and sync them. Use small motions and whenever you get close, LIGHTLY rev the bike to settle the throttle plates and reset the idle. Do this until they are all within 1-2in. vacuum of each other. Perfect is nice but if thay are all 1 apart, stop, thats cool!

CBR Bob
TeamPromotion Coach#29TPM
Rider Ed. of N.J. Inc. Senior RiderCoachRENJ
CBRBob is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 2:41 PM
 
Join Date: 11-21-2002
Location: Columbus, Oh.
Age: 61
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaggedEdge
Can't be done without a proper carburetor synchronization tool, which of
course you'd have to purchase (or otherwise acquire somehow). Doesn't
make any sense to do so, since your stated intent is to buy a new bike
sometime soon (hopefully), as virtually anything you're likely to get will be
fuel injected. It's probably simpler to just take your bike to a trusted dealer
(is there such a thing?) and have them sync your carbs for you. I can't
imagine it would be too expensive.
You can still use it to sync throttle bodies on FI bikes. I used one to do mine.
slowpoke is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 3:32 PM Thread Starter
 
TGZ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Age: 41
Posts: 7,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
   
Send a message via AIM to TGZ13
Re: Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

I have to call the local place and see how much they want to do it. If it costs the same as buying a tool I am going to do it myself
TGZ13 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 3:38 PM
 
Join Date: 11-21-2002
Location: Columbus, Oh.
Age: 61
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

Not to mention you'll know it's done right!
slowpoke is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-12-2004, 3:49 PM Thread Starter
 
TGZ13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-2003
Location: Staten Island, NY
Age: 41
Posts: 7,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 24
   
Send a message via AIM to TGZ13
Re: Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

Quote:
Not to mention you'll know it's done right!
True that. I only brought my bike in for service when I first got it b/c I didnt' have any manual or anyidea about the bike. Now I have done all the rest myself (thanks to my trusty Clymer Manual)
TGZ13 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-14-2004, 10:47 AM
 
Join Date: 01-05-2003
Location: Ventura County, SoCal
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 17
 
Re: Anyone have any info on hot to Sync Carbs

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperDave
I did some searching awhile ago and found lots of praise for the Morgan CarbTune II unit. Can't remember the link off hand, just google Morgan Carbtune.
Morgan CarbTune II

Works GREAT for carbs or throttle bodies. Well worth every penny, as you won't suck mercury into the engine if you rev the engine while it's attached.
CanyonCarver is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-14-2004, 3:13 PM
 
Join Date: 08-02-2002
Location: San Leandro CA
Age: 53
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 18
 
Re: Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

It's only about fifty bucks for the tool so you might as well get it. It will work on any bike with multiple carbs or throttle bodies. Besides if you take it to the dealer they are going to F up all the work you have already done to it and rob you of your hard earned money.

Another great site to visit.

Throw off those chains of reason and your prison disappears...Peart
CBRjack is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-15-2004, 1:24 AM
 
Join Date: 06-01-2002
Location: Seal Rock, OR
Age: 49
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 18
 
Re: Anyone have any info on how to Sync Carbs

I know the application is different, but here's a good write up on how to sync carbs on an SV. The procedure should be pretty damn similar overall with the exception of getting to the parts. Hope it sheds a little light on the subject.Carb Sync

02 s/b 954
00 SV650 Race Only
h8mondays is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org > Other > Off-Topic

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
A valid e-mail address is REQUIRED. You will not have access to any site features until you activate your account using the activation e-mail that is sent to this address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you cool a hot bike? benchj Honda FireBlade 28 03-06-2004 5:28 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome