Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org

Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org (https://www.fireblades.org/forums/)
-   Honda FireBlade (https://www.fireblades.org/forums/honda-fireblade/)
-   -   O2 sensor thread sizes? (https://www.fireblades.org/forums/honda-fireblade/66748-o2-sensor-thread-sizes.html)

bladeracer 07-17-2008 11:01 AM

O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
I'm chasing an O2 sensor for a 954 which I think is M12 thread.
Can anybody confirm the size?
Also, checking fiches lots of other models seem to run M12 sensors?

Dark954UT 09-15-2014 1:06 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bladeracer (Post 696239)
I'm chasing an O2 sensor for a 954 which I think is M12 thread.
Can anybody confirm the size?
Also, checking fiches lots of other models seem to run M12 sensors?

I know this is a neco-post but did you ever find the answer to this? I just bought a Dynojet Autotune system and want to know if the already existing o2 sensor bung is going to work for it?

The one that comes with the Autotune system is an 18mm

Thanks!

Tom

bladeracer 09-15-2014 1:18 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark954UT (Post 1176106)
I know this is a neco-post but did you ever find the answer to this? I just bought a Dynojet Autotune system and want to know if the already existing o2 sensor bung is going to work for it?

The one that comes with the Autotune system is an 18mm

Thanks!

Tom


My Dynojet Wideband Commander uses an M18 nut.
I've never seen an OEM midpipe with O2 sensor so I can't confirm if those are M12 or M18.
They're narrowband though so probably only 12mm?

Dark954UT 09-15-2014 1:21 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bladeracer (Post 1176109)
My Dynojet Wideband Commander uses an M18 nut.
I've never seen an OEM midpipe with O2 sensor so I can't confirm if those are M12 or M18.
They're narrowband though so probably only 12mm?

"California Bikes" apparently come stock with an o2 Sensor. Other than seeing the sensor I don't know how to tell what constitutes a "California Bike" or how to figure out if I have one. I'm the 3rd owner so all origination information is basically lost.

So how/who did you have put the M18 bung in?

bladeracer 09-15-2014 1:25 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark954UT (Post 1176110)
So how/who did you have put the M18 bung in?


Just drilled a hole and welded a nut on.
https://www.fireblades.org/forums/gen...ml#post1170314
I found an aluminium plug that happens to be the right thread for plugging it when not running the sensor - I think it's a rocker shaft plug or gallery plug from something, I'll endeavour to identify it sometime.

Dark954UT 09-15-2014 2:29 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
I plan on running it for a while/indefinitely as my rides range from 4000' to 10,000' and I'd like to to make small mods here and there. Plus, I'm trying to use the AutoTune to replace a true Dyno tune as there is narry a Dyno in my area.

Additionally, I'm looking to get more data on the performance of each cylinder.

bladeracer 09-15-2014 2:35 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark954UT (Post 1176113)
I plan on running it for a while/indefinitely as my rides range from 4000' to 10,000' and I'd like to to make small mods here and there. Plus, I'm trying to use the AutoTune to replace a true Dyno tune as there is narry a Dyno in my area.

Additionally, I'm looking to get more data on the performance of each cylinder.

You'd probably want to put a nut on each header then so you can move the O2 sensor around. But simply monitoring header temps is probably more than sufficient.

A dyno tune is no better than a good seat-of-the-pants tune. In my opinion you can get a better result by tuning in the actual environment you intend to ride the bike in.

Dark954UT 09-15-2014 2:47 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
I have 4 cyl. (as you know) and the Autotune for my bike is the AT-200 (Single channel). So would you put 4 bungs on (one on each header) and then rotate the sensor? That seems like a lot of work. Dynojet also recommends the sensor be installed before the Cat, which I'm 80% sure my bike has as I'm running the stock exhaust and due to the existence of the OEM o2 sensor leads me to believe it's a California Bike. I wish there was a way for me to understand if it is a CA bike more concretely.

The location that the current o2 sensor is installed is after what I think is the Cat so do you see any issues with replacing the existing o2 sensor with the new one for the Autotune system?

bladeracer 09-15-2014 2:54 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark954UT (Post 1176117)
I have 4 cyl. (as you know) and the Autotune for my bike is the AT-200 (Single channel). So would you put 4 bungs on (one on each header) and then rotate the sensor? That seems like a lot of work. Dynojet also recommends the sensor be installed before the Cat, which I'm 80% sure my bike has as I'm running the stock exhaust and due to the existence of the OEM o2 sensor leads me to believe it's a California Bike. I wish there was a way for me to understand if it is a CA bike more concretely.

The location that the current o2 sensor is installed is after what I think is the Cat so do you see any issues with replacing the existing o2 sensor with the new one for the Autotune system?


I guess you weigh up the effort against your reason for wanting to read each cylinder separately. If you have lots of money you could put four sensors in but then you'd still have to swap the connectors across, or run four seperate Autotune units.

The 954 does not have a CAT.
The first part of the VIN tells you if it's a Cali bike.

Sounds fine, grind off the OEM nut, drill the hole out, weld on the bigger nut.

Dark954UT 09-15-2014 2:57 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Do you know what I should look for in the VIN to identify a "Cali bike"?

Thx for all your help BTW.

td

bladeracer 09-15-2014 3:00 PM

Re: O2 sensor thread sizes?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark954UT (Post 1176124)
Do you know what I should look for in the VIN to identify a "Cali bike"?

Thx for all your help BTW.

td


SC50X - the X indicates the market.
US is 0, Cali is 1 I think - I'd have to check the manual.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 5:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2016 FireBlades.org. All Rights Reserved.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome