cbr 900 dying of old age - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Road Racing: Club / Amateur Discussion of Club / Amateur Motorcycle Road Racing, such as AFM, CCS, WSMC, WERA, etc.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-20-2009, 7:21 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

cbr 900 dying of old age

so i started riding track two seasons ago for fun and to improve my riding skills but this upcomming season will be my first competative and one my 900 wont be able to hang with the "new school" varieties. what can i do to give my bike a little more power? so far ive got a full sys micron a little suspension work and upgraded brakes. other than that its bone stock. please help if youve got any know how of 900s - btw its a '95
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 01-22-2009, 8:10 AM

Reputation Power: 59

Re: cbr 900 dying of old age

Is your engine worn out? Maybe a rebuild?

If its running ok, how about getting a Dyno Jet kit?

The new 600s are well over 100BHP now, probably pushing 130BHP and also much lighter so its going to be a struggle for any old bird.

"Second is the first of the losers..."
post #3 of 17 Old 01-22-2009, 10:05 AM

Reputation Power: 12

You have two seasons of track day riding. On those track days, what group did you ride in? Intermediate or Advanced?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 01-22-2009, 10:19 AM

JMHO but $500 spent on attending a good school (i.e. Pridmore's 2-day Star program) will be more effective in lowering your lap times than adding hp or modding your bike.
post #5 of 17 Old 01-22-2009, 6:58 PM Thread Starter