Hey guys, newbie here... :'( - Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org
Wrecked Motorcycle Photos & Stories This section of the site is for wrecked motorcycles. Photos of wrecked bikes, before and after photos. How you wrecked it & how you fixed it. Most of us have laid it down or lost it for one reason or another. Tell your stories here.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-10-2013, 10:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Reputation Power: 0

Hey guys, newbie here... :'(

Hi all,
I'll try keep it easy to follow and straight forward without getting you all lost..

SO
Its 2010, and I want a bike so very badly.
Of course, friction with parents caused an outroar at home at the idea of getting a motorbike.
So I look into them anyway and read about the 250RR.
I fall in love, but develop a general idea how most of them have been abused, thrashed/bikes are too expensive to run and maintain blah blah... (parental influences conquered personal choices)..

3 years later, 2013.
A few guys at work begin talking about bikes and stuff.
A sudden jolt of abandoned desire, I SO BADLY WANT A BIKE AGAIN.
I head out to buy some gear.
I get : Shoei XR1100 w/Chromatic Pinlock, Dainese 2 piece racing pelle, Trq Touring boots and Metal pro gloves.

I went overboard with the gear, but got almost 1/3 off the total price at the end !

Anyways,
I'm looking at bikes and a guy at work offers to me spin his 2010 250R around the car park, and it goes well... but it felt like a bicycle with a lawn mower engine.
I know bikes have a little bit more excitement to offer, even for a beginner...

So I find a 250RR from 1999, gorgeous maroon colour.
Bike wasn't started in a while, so the guy changed the fuel and it fired up nicely.
Having quite a bit of hands-on with cars, I listen to the engine for unusual ticks and clicks but this thing sounded great. (I checked coolant and oil before, no mayo or metal)