Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just checked the valves on my 02 954. Odometer is at 16,000 exactly.

Manual says intake spec is 0.13 - 0.19 and exhaust spec is 0.24 to 0.30.

The set of feeler gauges I have are in thousanths and don't land exactly well with the specs. I have (for intake) .102, .127, .152, .178 then (for exhaust) .229, .254, .279, .305

Anyways here's the results.

(EXH 1 .229 .254) (EXH 2 .254 .254) (EXH 3 .254 .254) (EXH 4 .254 .229)
(INT 1 .152 .127) (INT 2 .152 .102) (INT 3 .152 .127) (INT 4 .127 .127)

I am pretty new to motorcycles and was hoping someone with more experience would look at my results and tell me what they think. My feeling is most of them are fine but was worried about the INT 2 @ .102 (tight seems odd on intake??)

Are the gauges I am using good enough for checking these valves or should I find something that lands within the spec numbers better? Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,398 Posts
I’d double check and if you are right then you should adjust that 1 tbh. They’ll be little clearance when hot and if it hangs open your gonna to have a lot more work & costs later on.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’d double check and if you are right then you should adjust that 1 tbh. They’ll be little clearance when hot and if it hangs open your gonna to have a lot more work & costs later on.
As in recheck the INT valve @ .102? (I know it seems really odd) Do you think the rest are all set?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Think of feeler gauges as more of a go, no go situation. Or in spec, not in spec.
I used a tighter set to calculate the new shim.
I would re-measure the gaps to make sure the tight one is really that tight.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6