Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys this is my first time posting on a forum of any sort so forgive me if I make a mistake as I am very new to this. My 1996 cbr 600 lacks power from idle to about 6000 rpms. High revving it drives like a dream. Also when I am at an idle and start to go it always seems like it is on the verge of dying. as if it is being flooded with gas maybe? The bike has about 40000 miles on it. I do not know much about this history of the bike besides the fact that when I bought it a month ago it has ridden with out error since this past weekend. My driving habits are pretty timid with the occasional romp on the gas. So any suggestion about where I should look at for my power issue?

·
Premium Member
32,034 Posts
Hey guys this is my first time posting on a forum of any sort so forgive me if I make a mistake as I am very new to this. My 1996 cbr 600 lacks power from idle to about 6000 rpms. High revving it drives like a dream. Also when I am at an idle and start to go it always seems like it is on the verge of dying. as if it is being flooded with gas maybe? The bike has about 40000 miles on it. I do not know much about this history of the bike besides the fact that when I bought it a month ago it has ridden with out error since this past weekend. My driving habits are pretty timid with the occasional romp on the gas. So any suggestion about where I should look at for my power issue?

What other bikes are you comparing it to?
It's a sportsbike so the engine is designed to make power at high RPM. You need to get the revs up before engaging the clutch when taking off from stationary.

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Don't pull away from idle. Get the revs up to at least 4K before take off

·
Premium Member
32,034 Posts
Don't pull away from idle. Get the revs up to at least 4K before take off