Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now that my project is pretty much complete, I’d like to introduce myself and my bike. I’m a graduate student from Hawaii that just recently got bitten by the motorcycle bug, and wanted a project to introduce myself to the basic mechanics of it all. Found this 1996 CBR900RR from a Military guy who had just crashed it and didn’t have any place to store it/time to work on it. Crash bars did a hell of a job preventing this bike from getting completely killed. Being a little island with little opportunity, I bought it for a pretty steep price. Aside from the damage, it seemed mechanically fine. I was able to start it up and drive it. The bike also had relatively low miles at 16181. Other cons included a missing seat, non-functioning gauge cluster, broken right rear set, hacked rear fender. Little did I know the radiator was also damaged (mounting tab broke). Long story short, there was a lot of work ahead of me. Here are the initial pictures:

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2