Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i’m no expert at all on bikes & wont pretend i am...i been asking & researching around but haven’t seen anybody with my problem..
got the bike after it sat for a few years...new battery & it started right up...(previous owner took great care of it)..rode it for about 150miles (if that!), then i had to take a 9month vacation..then the bike just wouldn’t turn on..had power & everything came on! but when i pressed the start button, the bike would completely shut off until i released the button..couldn’t jump it, but didn’t try to pop start it neither..then 1 day it just started!
rode it 1 day (about 200miles) & towards the ride home, it just shut off! power came back but it just wouldn’t turnover..
new stator...rectifier...starter...starter solenoid (but the new solenoid when connected would automatically try starting the bike without the key..🤷🏾‍♂️)...
any suggestions to check before i try getting a new motor? i do hear a clicking sound near battery, but just can’t figure out what i’m hearing

·
President: Team Full Chat
7,616 Posts
Hi and welcome,
It doesn't sound like a "motor issue", so cool the engines on getting a new motor. The engine only does what it's told to do by all the electronics, especially what you're describing. It sounds like you have a short either in your start button, your wire harness, or a bad ground somewhere. Do you have any pictures of the old and new starter solenoids?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the new solenoid is in my hand...a friend of mines (who’s a lil better at bikes than myself..) said it was faulty (thnx ebay!)..he said so because it would try starting the motor just from connection..
of course this theory gives me more questions

·
President: Team Full Chat
7,616 Posts