Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and do not own the bike mentioned in the title yet. I would like everyone's opinion. The bike is a 2001 f4i, it starts and runs, however, it will not idle. As soon as you let off the throttle the bike dies. As long as you keep on the throttle, the bike will run. I am considering purchasing this bike from a friend for a very reasonable price. Has anyone had this problem before and if so what did it take to fix? I was a mechanic for a number of years and intend to fix the bike myself, if purchased. I am thinking it is a bad fuel pressure regulator combined with fowled plugs. The bike has 14,000 miles on it and I do not know if the valves have been adjusted. Any suggestions on what the culprit could be?

·
Heeza Y Zasch
3,033 Posts
Hello and welcome.
It truly could be any number of things (including what you already mentioned. Maybe even as simple as a vacuum leak :idunno: Without spending some time with it, we'd all just be throwing ideas at a wall and hoping one "sticks".

When buying used bikes (of the F4i's era), I go by the Thirty Five Hundred Rule :deal: If you buy it for $2500, expect to put at least $1000 into it... and don't expect a perfect bike for $4K either.

If he's your friend, maybe he'll allow you to do some troubleshooting BEFORE you lay out the cash. If not, re-evaluate your friendship, look for another machine, or just roll up your sleeves and (if you're up for a project and can get it "cheap" enough) with the help from Fireblades.org, a Sevice Manual, patience, and some coin, get after it :thumb:

Just a humble opinion from a like-minded motorcycle enthusiast :twocents:

·
Premium Member
2,469 Posts