Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to cycling.
Thinking of buying 2007 Shadow 600 VLS Deluxe.
Looking for opinions on this bike.
Does anyone know the gas mileage this bike gets?

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
For a few bucks more you can get the 750 and have a 5 speed. The 600 is only a 4 speed and could be an issue with freeway commuting however if the speed limit is your limit, it may do fine. There is also a much larger aftermarket for the 750 for goodies. I had a friend with a VLX and he rode my 750 and stated it was a completely different bike and well worth the few extra bucks. :twocents:

·
Registered
7 Posts
I'd suggest a used Rebel as a starter bike, it would be a cheaper initial investment, and gets well over 60 mpg. Take the BRC and once you have mastered the Rebel sell it (they hold there value very well) and then move up to a bigger bike. Good luck with your decision:thumb:

·
Registered
2,041 Posts
The 600 would be ok, however I would try to find an older one for less money than an '07.

Have you taken the MSF course? They probably have a bunch of Rebel's there for you to ride. I don't know how tall you are, how much you weigh, or how far you have to commute, but you'll probably find the 250 too small within a week.

The 750 was considered a HUGE bike years ago, but they are almost in "starter" territory now. It would probably be a fine bike to begin on. As a cruiser, the bike isn't going to get away from you power-wise. The biggest issue you'll deal with is weight. Again, there should be plenty of nice used copies out there.

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
I wouldn't be too concerned about the weight of a small cruiser. My 750 weighs in at a portly 500lbs and my 4'11", 110lb wife rides hers with great confidence. But her friend with her little 350lb Suzuki S40 complains about being almost blown off the road when a large truck comes opposing. Just something to think about.

·