Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey, im looking to get my first bike. is the 600rr or 954rr better? i hear liter bikes are dangerous, but i dont want to die anytime soon so i am positive to drive responsibility. Which is better in technical terms such as handling, etc?

·
Registered
2,444 Posts
I have had no experience with a 600rr. I have had a 954rr, and can tell you she is touchy, you can flip it in first gear really really easily (due to such a short wheelbase and gobs of grunt)
I honestly wouldn't recommend a 954rr as a first bike, even though you said you would be responsible its more to it than that, its about experience, and having that powerful (and touchy) of a machine without having some built up experience-based instinct is pretty risky. What year 600 are you looking at? Have you considered an F4i? Awesome bikes for beginners and experienced alike. A newer 600rr has way more power than you'd need on the street as well, but I imagine (as I said no experience personally) they would be a bit easier to tame.
Most on here would say start with a 250, learn on it, love it, and step up when you are ready. I agree, to a point. But if you found an older 600 that would be a great starter as well (but you'd still have to be really really ginger with her)
Are you planning on taking a safety course? These are just my 2 pennies, and I'm sure others will post theirs as well....

·
Registered
2,444 Posts
No prob :smilebig: