Honda Motorcycles - FireBlades.org banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm currently looking to purchase my first blade and have a question regarding the 2001-02 RR2 and the 2003 RR3 models. Apart from the engine size, what are the differences between the two models. It may be a really obvious question and I apologise if it is.

It's just that I'm new to blades and want to make sure I'm making the right decision, looking at prices the RR3 is between £500 -£1000 more expensive and whilst it's billed as the final Baba Blade and the best one ever made, is the difference really that vast.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

·
Registered
927 Posts
It's about a 20hp difference up top and a little better than 10hp in the mid-range. The 929 is going to be a great bike for a long time, but if you're looking for thrills.. then it's the 954rr.

·
Super Moderator
32,034 Posts
I'm currently looking to purchase my first blade and have a question regarding the 2001-02 RR2 and the 2003 RR3 models. Apart from the engine size, what are the differences between the two models. It may be a really obvious question and I apologise if it is.

It's just that I'm new to blades and want to make sure I'm making the right decision, looking at prices the RR3 is between £500 -£1000 more expensive and whilst it's billed as the final Baba Blade and the best one ever made, is the difference really that vast.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

Mechanically the differences are fairly minor, although the result is another 10hp to the 954.
The 954 was further stripped to shed more weight, perhaps pushing the limits too far as some of the '03 models developed cracked cooling jackets on the front of the engine and cracked lower fork castings.
Strangely, not much of the bikes are interchangeable despite seeming so similar.
I think it's going to come down to which test ride puts the bigger grin on your face :)

·
Super Moderator